Japanese Cake

japanese cake
What would you buy with your 5 pesos that would truly fill your stomach?
Answer: You don’t know.
Usually if you’re going for a stroll alone or with friends the first thing you would always consider is clothes to wear and money in your pocket.
Of course we wanted to look good since we are going to a place where there are lots of people.
But then of course it’s seldom that you don’t go hungry after hours of walking and window shopping.
And when we do get hungry our eyes searches for McDonalds, Jollibee, Chowking, or any other fast food of your choice.
The saddest part of that is when you don’t have money.
And so we don’t go out of the house unless our pocket is heavy.
But it happened to me that I had to go to the downtown area of Bacolod to pick up some things.
And the unwanted event happened.
My stomach has demanded attention and my eyes are craving for something beautiful to come and enter my mouth.
And there I was standing in the middle of luzuriaga st. in between neighborhood of fast foods.
Fast foods are full for it was lunch time.
So I was wandering around looking for a place to dine.
I wanted to eat where I could be comfortable.
And fortunately I found a food stall baking japanese cake just along the street.
5 pesos for a pair the lady said.
I thought it wouldn’t cost much to try.
Just on first bite compelled me to buy more.
So I was able to save money and time.
Plus I had the opportunity to eat at the jeepney while others stare wondering what I’m eating.
When I got home lunch was waiting.
It’s always better to eat at home.
Indeed it’s costly to live in the city but there are still options to be thrifty.
You don’t need to be extravagant for just a meal.
If you want to look good before the mob that’s fine.
But forcing yourself to spend more for food is unpractical when there is actually more food at home.
You certainly don’t want to go home with an empty pocket.
Live simply. Eat happy.

About Marmar Dagu-ob

Will graduate life with honor and no regret.

Posted on June 18, 2013, in On Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. These look so scrumptious!

  2. This will be most interesting….I look forward to the various bloggers posting. Also, thanks for tagging along on my Roads, Paths, & Trails. I will try and keep things heavy, light, thoughtful, sometimes difficult. But always true.

Share your thoughts on this post.

