I Believe in Miracles Because I Have To

I watched the Terry Fox Story a few months ago. There is a line in it that was a personal message for me and I believe for all of us. It was when Terry said, “I believe in miracles because I have to.” Terry would need that belief in something outside of his own limited human understanding for what he felt called to do. He would run across Canada to raise money for cancer research.

 Terry had to trust in something more than himself. He understood that his humanity alone would not be enough to stand up against his many critics. You are living in a fantasy world. You’re a dreamer. How can you expect to run across Canada with one leg and the other one being a prosthetic leg? It’s too dangerous. You should have your head examined. Yet, Terry didn’t listen to those who believed he was a dreamer. He pressed on where many would have given up. And in his unflagging determination he proved the skeptics wrong.

 Terry ran 3,339 miles across Canada. He with the help of a telethon on C.T.V. government donations, and the support of fellow Canadians met his goal of raising one dollar for every Canadian. Over 24.1 million dollars was raised for cancer research. The Terry Fox Foundation has gone on to raise over 600 million dollars.

 Terry inspired us all with his Marathon of Hope. We rejoiced with him as the spirit of hope rose within us. Many started thinking if Terry can do it, so can I. If Terry can fight 143 days against pain with every step on his artificial leg and even as his stump bleeds, then I too can fight cancer. I can make a difference in the lives of others by reaching beyond my own pain to the suffering of others.

 Terry’s dream of running across Canada ended just outside of Thunder Bay, Ontario. That young man with hope burning in his heart that he could beat his cancer had to stop running, because cancer had now spread to his lungs.

 I recall as a teenager of 17 crying as I saw those so many news reports that Terry’s cancer had taken a turn for the worse. I have no doubt that millions wept around the world. Even now as I write this piece, I revisit that sorrowful time. Then, in my sadness I remember that image of Terry dipping his artificial leg into the Atlantic ocean as he began his Marathon of Hope. He stands tall. Hope is alive in him. The dreamer is going to prove his skeptics wrong.

 I hope Terry’s spirit of hope for a day when a cure will be found for all types of cancer speaks to your heart. Terry was only one man, but what a determined young man he was. For those battling cancer and many who had given up hope, Terry by his example inspired them to not give up, to keep fighting. Let Terry speak to your heart through one of his own journal entries.

 “That’s the thing about cancer. I’m not the only one, it happens all the time to people. I’m not special. This just intensifies what I did. It gives it more meaning. It’ll inspire more people… I just wish people would realize that anything’s possible if you try. When I started this Run, I said that if we all gave one dollar, we’d have $22 million for cancer research, and I don’t care, man, there’s no reason that isn’t possible. No reason.”

 Let Terry’s hope give you strength today. And who knows? You may even believe in miracles too not because you have to, but rather because you want to.

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on September 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Cancer was his lesson in faith. Not faith in above but faith that he could run those miles. I happened on his story on Netflix and was amazed. There was a time I would have been tired driving across Highway 1. I had faith I could get in shape. I’m somewhat in shape and still I couldn’t do what he did…

    • In the final analysis it comes down to a matter of perceptions. This was an actual line from the movie. I took the idea from that line for the piece. In my opinion, for Terry to do the things he did that self-effort alone didn’t carry him.

      Terry was a determined young man. He pressed on where many would have given up.

      Thanks for taking the time to read my piece.

      Kevin

  2. I’ve seen 2 miracles in my life. Our grandson, born at 1 pound and change was given no hope for survival. Our daughter and son-in-law said no to termination. Jax lives on today, albeit somewhat delayed. He’ll get there eventually. Talk about a determined kid.

    My father-in-law many years ago was given a similar medical opinion. Through prayer on a mass scale he walked out of the hospital to live many more years. Neither of these situations were happenstance. Miracles abound if we are open to them.

    • Thanks for sharing some of the miracles in your life with me. Yes. Tom, miracles abound if we are open to them.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to offer your most valued insights.

      Please feel free to pass along any of my pieces to those you think it would bless.

      Keep sharing your own story about all of the miracles that have happened in your life. You will be inspiring so many with these stories of living miracles.

      The Lord’s richest blessings!

      Kevin

  3. I love hearing stories like that when people never give up for their dreams.

  4. Reblogged this on hopeandloveradio and commented:
    I know this post has nothing to do wiht music, but it stories like this that give u inspiration and hope. Never give up on your dreams or your goals.

    • How awesome that you reblogged this piece on a music site! I am so moved in my spirit that it gave you inspiration and hope. Terry Fox did so much in his short life. Did you know that he received the distinction of being named to the Order of Canada for his valiant attempt to run across Canada. At that time there were around 23 million Canadians. He helped raise more than $1.00 for every Canadian with a total that year of over 24.1 million dollars. The Terry Fox Foundation has gone on to raise over 600 million dollars for cancer research.

      As a trained tenor I appreciate quality music very much. I’ve even written a number of song lyrics. Let me know if you’d be interested in looking at them or me sending links for the kind of singing I have on you tube and metacafe.com.

      Keep sharing the love of Christ through inspirational music.

      Kevin

Share your thoughts on this post.

