There is a Hero in All of Us

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on September 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this photo. I love that the guy on the right didn’t put his cigarette down. To me, that really screams ‘doing good is not a choice’. You don’t stop what you’re doing to improve someone’s lot. Too often when we think of being Good we think of the sacrifice involved: I won’t go to the game because I’m picking up garbage; I won’t go to the movies because I gave money to that homeless man. This photo reminds me that doing good and being inconvenienced are not the same thing. Love it. Love it. Thanks for getting it to my attention ❤

    • Thanks for the comment about the photo. I went through so many of them determining which one spoke the loudest about helping others without thinking about oneself. I think you are bang on with all your comments. I love it when you wrote, “…doing good and being inconvenienced are not the same thing. You don’t stop what you are doing to improve someone’s lot.” It would be a kinder and more just world if everyone thought the way you do.

      That man who gave his life rescuing that woman in the Colorado flood could have chosen to not to do so. Yet, he just did it, not taking time to calculate the risk of death itself. To me, he is and will always remain a hero.

      Tragedy brings out the best and the worst of people. There were those who took advantage of the closed stores and looted them before the National Guard was called in. They represent the worst of humanity. Yet, so many more people opened up their homes to complete strangers. They fed them and made sure they had warm clothing to put on. I’m sure those cups of hot coffee and a listening ear made a huge difference to those who had their homes destroyed with the raging river, memories and photos of family swept away, that can never be replaced. Shocking, sad, and gut-wrenching. Thank God for people who care, who go the extra mile, who think nothing of themselves. They give out of love, that noble part that lies sometimes hidden, but there when the call to action is needed.

      Bleats, grunts, rumbles and snorts. You have awakened my curiousity to discover more, so I’ll be following your blog.

      I thank you that you took the time to share your thoughts. I was moved by the photo my very picky editor’s eye finally decided upon. The fact that the piece spoke to you, tells me I wrote it in a way that reached you. This helps me as a writer. It’s a story that needed to be told in a way that made others shine and hid myself in the background. I’m not the story. Those brave and noble souls who gave their lives rescuing others are. Emergency services personnel, who went into the bitter cold of the flood waters risking their own lives are the story. People who opened their homes and disrupted their lives to welcome the victims shaking, cold, exhausted, physically and emotionally spent, are the story.

      I just pray that confronted with the risk of giving my own life to save another, I will do the right thing and not think of myself. It is in these times of tragedy that we truly learn more about ourselves.

      Have a great weekend!

      Kevin

Share your thoughts on this post.

