“Angelo Rules” and Confidence

In the center of the image, Angelo, from the series "Angelo Rules," produced by “Cake Entertainment” and “TeamTo”

Angelo, from the series “Angelo Rules,” produced by “Cake Entertainment” and “TeamTo”

Like most kids, I spent hours watching cartoons. That enjoyment turned into a passion and special interest the older I got. To this day, I’m finding that God and Christ wants to specially use that same passion for animation and cartoons that I have for Kingdom work!

In fact, the Lord continues to use cartoons and other forms of media and arts to point me to Him.

I know that sounds strange, but here me out!

There’s a series on Netflix that I just can’t get enough of called “Angelo Rules.”

“Angelo Rules” is about an 11-year-old, charismatic boy named Angelo. With him are his two friends, Lola and Sherwood. Together, they often plan and plot ideas with phases and ideas in order to get out of doing chores, school tests and getting around all kinds of problems.

While working on this article, I asked myself this question, “why do I watch this show so heavily!”

Like many people who watch movies or TV shows they enjoy, I see a quite a bit of myself in the main character.

Angelo is confident, smart, creative and cool. Watching “Angelo Rules” reminds me of what was hidden in the shadows of my own childhood and what is developing more in my adulthood.

For me, the confidence piece is what stuck out for me.

All week long, I have been struggling with the issue of confidence. Under my breathe, I would whisper to myself, “man, Angelo is so confident! How can you possibly be THAT confident, even when a plan goes to pieces? How do you hold such a resolve?”

The Lord has given me more than enough confidence, not so much in just myself, but also in Him. But, often I find myself in need of a confidence recharge, especially after spiritually fighting attacks.

You know, those attacks that sound like whispers of “you’re not good enough” or “you’re not as smart” or “you’re wasting your time.”

It’s one thing to be self-confident, but it’s another thing to be confident in your own abilities, talents. Your confidence has to come from a source greater than yourself, not recycled from past experiences, personal accomplishments and goals met.

Hebrews 10:35-36 says this:

Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the will of God, you may receive the promise.

Our confidence is built up of more than just what we have seen or accomplished. Our ultimate confidence has to be on God and Christ Jesus. It is from the confidence we gain through going forward in Christ that we can confidently accomplish what needs to be done even in our times of struggle or weakness.

About Kendall Lyons

Author, Minister, Cartoonist

Posted on September 28, 2013, in Devotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Kendall, a warm welcome to you as you have joined Marmar’s team of co-authors. I encourage everyone to follow Kendall’s blog. Perhaps, as you read, you will see something of yourself in Kendall’s comments. I know I did.

    The Enemy has whispered to me that I will never attain the things that God has called upon me to achieve, the plans He put upon my heart and soul. Thank God in those testing times we can assert even as life crashes down around us that our confidence is in Christ. I can say to the Prince of Liars that God will keep me here as long as it suits Him, not a moment less than that.

    I will briefly share a situation that happened in just this last week. I went to a prayer meeting at my church. I came home only five minutes later and started itching all over. Then, I had trouble breathing, so much so that I became so weak, that I collapsed. My wife, Karen, had to call 911.

    By the time paramedics arrived I was laying on my side, gasping for breath. I was wheezing because I have asthma in addition to a very rare incurable disease called systemic mastocytosis. I believe that Christ the Great Physician can heal me. For His kingdom purposes He has not elected to do that at this time. According to a research paper from the University of Toronto it affects 1 in 500,000 people in developed countries. Think of the mast cells as unwanted neighbourhood block party crashers. When I have a mast cell attack, the party crashers just keep multiplying, bringing more and more nasty unwanted party goers. This can go on for several hours or even longer.

    In me I can get and have had multiple anaphylactic attacks. Rather than blood pressure falling as is the case with most allergy attacks, mine skyrockets. I have been intubated eight times. I have to take six antihistamines a day and five mast cell stabilizers each day to stay alive.

    In some of those attacks Satan whispers that all this could stop if I would just accept a mediocre faith. I can have God ‘s love and not have to suffer so much. Yet, I would need to give up the call my Lord gave me in a Korean ambulance over 13 years ago to be a passionate social advocate. I would have to live day to day with a half kind of trust in God, a half commitment.

    Like the apostle Paul I am knocked down, but I am not knocked out. The devil says to me sometimes as life’s struggles are overwhelming, as I battle with the Ontario government to get the medications covered that I need for my very life, that maybe I’m just too weak to continue. And at times I will confess the Enemy gets a few arrows that make their peircing wounds, erodes some of my confidence in Christ, but I don’t remain there.

    I get up, dust myself off and go on not in my strength but my saviour’s to fight another day.

    Some would say why bother? You have an incurable disease. The systemic mastocytosis will get you, kill you barring proper treatments or a cure. maybe not this year or next, but it will mean a shorter life.

    C.S. Lewis in “The Screwtape Letters” writes about the danger of a mediocre faith., a half confidence that can have both worldy ideology and God at the same time.. The senior devil, Screwtape, advises the junior devil, Wormwood, with these words. ““It does not matter how small the sins are provided that their cumulative effect is to edge the man away from the Light and out into the Nothing. Murder is no better than cards if cards can do the trick. Indeed the safest road to Hell is the gradual one–the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts.”

    So, as our confidence in the Christ who saved us from our sins erodes, we can all too easily take that long, perilous journey to a postmodern theology that says we can still sin to our heart’s content and worship the Christ of Gethsemane, who gave His life, surrendered it that a sinful race would be saved from the Enemy’s noose.

    Kendall, you’ve made me think a lot, my friend, through this posting as you dare to be vulnerable with 12,353 people around the world. That has to come from the courage of Christ within you.

    I thank God for you, that He loved me so much, with so much passion, to bring you into my life. I pray that as we get to know each other more, that we can help one another.

    I look forward to our skype session together. I’ll be emailing you about when this would be best later today. We’ll arrive at a mutually agreeable time.

    I said to Karen I wanted to give you my best in this time of sharing together. She wisely advised when I said I didn’t want to give you moldy bread, that it didn’t need to be kaviar. She said that moldy bread was better than nothing at all. Wise words from a wise woman. Still recovering from a life-threatening reaction what in the light of reflection I’ll be offering is the light of Christ within me, because human strength alone would surely fail me.

    The Enemy tried to get me as I was in the hospital. The reaction to wood smoke that had brought me there because of other reactions causing me to be hyper-reactive, visited me in my hospital room. I don’t think it was mere coincidence that most of the smell from the wood smoke from outside just happened to come into the ER room I was in.

    God allowed the Enemy to go so far, but only so far. This has happened so many times before. I say to you and all reading this message that I don’t have an over confidence like Angelo. My trust even as I had increased difficulty breathing is in Christ.

    It was as I prayed and relied on God to see me through even with my own very real anxiety about what was happening, that the smoke went away.

    It shows me that my wife, Karen and I must be on the right track, even if we still stumble along the way.

    We will work together brother to brother, friend to friend. I will be there for you through the storm.

    Have confidence and complete trust that all the trials you are experiencing are leading you further to the totally awesome call God has upon your life.

    To Marmar and fellow co-authors, we are in a holy fraternity of faith. IGod is using us all in amazing ways to be ministers of healing to wounded and broken lives. I thank God for every one of you. You all possess amazing gifts given to you by Almighty God for His kingdom purposes. When the tempter comes saying you’re not good enough for the kingdom tasks set before you, tell him your confidence is in Christ.

    Per ardua est astra – The motto of the U.S. Air Force -Through difficulties to the stars.

    Kevin

    • Bless you brother! Thanks for your words and your encouragement! Man, when I say you’ve been through it, you’ve been THROUGH it! But look at God and what He’s doing in your life. You surely got a HUGE testimony. I intend to share quite a bit here as well and I’m so elated to join you guys in encouraging and helping people live a fulfilled life changing experience daily as we help readers draw closer to Christ! 🙂

  2. “Angelo Rules” . I have been looking for something that might be watching from a kid’s perspective and mine, too. Hard. Do not feel lonely. I was watching a cartoon, too, when it came to me that I don’t want to be in front or on the stage. I am the back-stage person. That is where I feel confident and useful. And it came through the mouth of a cartoon character. The Lord has many different ways of trying to get through my thick head!

Share your thoughts on this post.

