Raising A Happy Child

happy child

She turned 5, growing up without a father by her side.
She’s a gift that her father chose not to receive.
If he even love her we don’t know.
Scared of responsibility away he did go.

She’s got a little brother from another father.
She loves him like forever to her that’s all that matters.
Her brother’s father was another coward.
He left their mother unmarried and struggling to move forward.

Now that she’s 5 they wonder if she will survive.
Will her soul not wander in search of an answer.
Who was her father and why did she left her.
Will she be bitter or an encourager to her brother.

We taught her to smile, laugh, and get by.
With a family around her she will hesitate to cry.
She will be strong, happy and hopeful.
I don’t have a doubt because she learned it from us all.

Proverbs 22:6 (NASB)
Train up a child in the way he should go,
Even when he is old he will not depart from it.

About Marmar Dagu-ob

Will graduate life with honor and no regret.

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. 🙂 😀 Sweet poem. Thanks for putting this up. Please give Elize a big hug for me.

  2. I had a mother who did not want us and made it clear quite often. She had 6 great kids that she was not about to love even though she preached the love of Jesus. My dad was there, but ineffectual. I did get to sit on his lap and listen to his stories. That was the amount of love I got from him. Yet, I was happy. I was fed and clothed, and I had Jesus in my heart even at that young age.
    One day I made arrangements with my best friend to move in with her. My mother overheard us and said, “It doesn’t work that way.” In all innocence and sincerity I asked, “Why not? You don’t want us anyway.” She simply shook her head and walked away, throwing, “Because” over her shoulder. No hug of reassurance or comforting words. In my opinion, as long as the child knows it was not her fault, she will be fine. Growing up with parents who don’t love you, and you don’t know why is far worse. The “Why” question never goes away for either one of us.

  3. Reblogged this on closetoeighty and commented:
    A couple of days ago I started a discussion of the topic “What do We Know About Love?” This post “Raising A Happy Child” is relevant to the discussion. That’s why I reblog it.: :

Share your thoughts on this post.

