Love From An 8 Year Old Perspective

From Left to Right, Chen (Jen), Cedric and his friend Christian from the cartoon series, "Cedric." on Netflix (c) 2013

From Left to Right, Chen (Jen), Cedric and his friend Christian from the cartoon series, “Cedric.” on Netflix (c) 2013

I’m officially a fan of this series on Netflix called “Cedric,” a cartoon series staring, well, Cedric, an 8 year old boy whose experiences with school, his family, a girl he likes, his best friend and his sworn enemy.

Throughout the show, he narrates the viewer through his week or through a one day experience, holding and writing into a journal as he speaks out loud about his experience.

"Cedric"

“Cedric”

When he brings up the girl he likes, Chen (pronounced Jen), he goes into the conversation that he had with his grandpa he calls “Poppy.” Now with a better understanding on girls, Cedric puts everything he learned together in the most simple and most profound statement:

“Make them cry just a little, make them laugh a lot!”

Not only do I think this is cute, but this is smart! There comes a time when the person you truly love and care for will let you down or disappoint you, even to the point of tears. Then, there are times that they will make you laugh and, like Cedric said, you make them laugh a lot.

Cedric’s desire to make Chen happy, to make her feel loved and to express his feelings for her is much like our daily walk with God Christ Jesus and with one another. Of course, love goes much deeper than just emotions and feelings as we read a part of 1 Corinthians 13:

…Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails…

I can understand Cedric learning what love looks like. After all, he is 8 years old. But what about those of us who are 28, 38, 48 and so forth? We have to constantly remind ourselves of what love looks like. It is so much more than just avoiding doing something wrong, but more about what we can do for the other person. It is a deep interest of not wanting to hurt but help.

And yet, Cedric often fails. He fails because he himself has problems with his temper. He fails because he tends to have moments of being puffed up. He tends to fail in front of Chen over and over again. And yet, Chen seems to be more mature about it. She sees something deeper in Cedric and tends to give him a chance to redeem himself, to change. Is that love or what?

So, does she like Cedric. To be honest, the viewer never knows for sure, really. Although it is easy to get caught up with Cedric’s excitement about her.

About Kendall Lyons

Author, Minister, Cartoonist

Posted on October 18, 2013, in Devotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Chen’s ability to allow Cedric to redeem himself every time he fails reminds me of God’s love for us. We fail Him so many times and instead of turning His back to us, he gives us a chance to start again; well actually He helps us to start again. This was a great post. Thanks for sharing

    Keela

  2. Cedric reminds me of how I had to forgive myself as an eight year-old boy when my cousin, Paul, wanted me to go down to the Beaver Valley River in Thornbury, Ontario. My mom refused me permission to go. I swore to her that I would never speak to her again. I was mad at her for not letting me go play with my cousin, who I loved so much like a brother. We were kindred spirits. Wherever Paul would go I would follow along as we went through the town imagining ourselves to be noble adventurers on a quest like Don Quixote, the man of La Mancha.

    Later, I learned that my cousin had been in a barrel boat with his older brother, Stephen, which was made from a huge oil container. The boat hit a rock. in the river rapids, tossing Paul out of it and into the raging water. He was knocked unconscious and taken away by the force of the river. Three days later, Paul’s body was found by his honourary uncle Carl, who had spent so much time with Paul.

    Tears streamed down my face in a torrent of sadness as I learned Paul had drowned. I relived the tragedy as Paul’s story blared at me over the news. The images and thoughts surrounding Paul’s death were with me for a long time after that fatal day., causing me to have many sleepless nights.

    I remember seeing Stephen frantically trying to save his brother’s life, risking his own in the process. He dove in the river time and time again. His logical mind knew Paul was dead, but his heart hadn’t accepted that message. It was a sad and gut-wrenching sight to see.

    No more would we have our bold and daring adventures together. There would be no more laughter. Death had come for Paul far too early. He was an old soul with a maturity far beyond his years. In eight years on this earth he had touched countless lives with his smile and loving heart. A light had gone out. He was now with his saviour in Heaven.

    I asked mom to forgive me for the horrible things I had said to her. In my silent prayer I had asked my Lord to forgive me. He did, but it would be many years before I would forgive myself. I even blamed myself that if I had been more direct with Paul about not going to the river, he would be alive today.

    When we feel that we are at fault for a loved one’s death because of what we didn’t say we need to forgive ourselves. We have for us the greatest example of forgiveness in Christ when he was dying on the cross at Calvary as He said, ““Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they do” (Luke 23:34 NKJV).

    Paul’s death taught me the value of forgiveness. Let us then forgive one another and ourselves. Our Lord doesn’t want us left in prisons of unforgiveness.

Share your thoughts on this post.

