The Love of the Father

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 10.10.33 PM

 

I’ve been spending a lot of time watching the cartoon “Cedric” on Netflix. There’s one episode that caught my attention called “My Dad is an Astronaut.”

In this episode, the main character, an 8-year-old named Cedric, tells the story of when he met his best friend Christian for the very first time. Christian asks him what his dad does, but Cedric is too embarrassed to share that his dad is a carpet salesman (technically, his dad sells oriental rugs). This is especially after Christian tells Cedric that his dad is a secret agent. Cedric tries to impress Christian by saying that his dad is an astronaut.

Cedric later tells his poppy (granddad), and his mother and later his father about the lie he told Christian. Cedric has only a few hours before he is to introduce Christian to his dad.

Christian and Cedric walk home the next day and Cedric later confesses that his dad is not really an astronaut. Christian confesses that he made up the story about his father being a secret agent, and in fact, doesn’t even have a father. He made it up to protect himself. After they both admit the truth to one another, they walk into Cedric’s home and are welcomed by Cedric’s dad whose dressed as an astronaut.

Cedric and Christian burst into laughter and Cedric tells his father how much he appreciated the help but that he told Christian the truth. Christian is so impressed by the love shown by Cedric’s father that he insists on meeting him either way and asks that he shakes his hand.

I was impressed with this episode in the way that it addressed the lack of a father in ones life. But, I also was impressed with the overall storyline as it covered both points of view: the boy whose embarrassed by his father and the boy whose desire for a father is manifested in something he created himself.

But, what I am most impressed with is the realization of the love of the father. Cedric’s dad cared enough to bail him out of his ridiculous lie that he decided to dress up as an astronaut and make up a story that he was deciding to quit that job and start selling oriental rugs.

Christian did something very important to me in this moment. He is so impressed with this love that a genuine father would have that he desires to shake his hand.

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 10.12.02 PM

Powerful! It’s interesting that Cedric’s view of his father was filled with that of embarrassment, not truly believing that his father’s work was worthy of even being brought up. All the while Cedric’s new friend, Christian, was making up his version of what a father looked like. Both were still unhealthy views of a father.

The other night, as I thought about this moment, I thought about my encounter with the Father’s love. Genuine love that I knew was filled with his mercy and grace. The whole moment moved me to tears. I thought about how Christian was just wanting to shake Cedric’s father’s hand. For me, I say, let me dwell in the presence of the Father. I want to do more than shake hands, I want to embrace and be embraced by the Father.

I recall the many times that I walked around, much like Christian, trying to come up with my own version of what my Father was like. I thought I knew God very well, but truth is, I was creating my own view. Much like Christian, I did it to protect myself from being seen as out of place or avoid being picked on.

God Loves Us! Period! The Father loves us and He loves us even when we find ourself in a place where we are embarrassed or lost. He desires us to KNOW Him! He desires us to know His son Jesus, whom he loved US so much that he gave His son to die for us. 

Romans 5:8 in the English Standard Version says the following:

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Also, see Psalm 68:5

A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling.

I know so many who are without father’s on earth, but we can rest assured on the fact that we have a father in heaven who loves us.

 

Kendall Lyons is a Youth Minister, Writer and Cartoonist. You can read more from him at http://cartoondailynews.com and http://kendalllyons.com and you can follow him on Twitter @CartoonDaily1 and Instagram @CartoonDaily1

About Kendall Lyons

Author, Minister, Cartoonist

Posted on November 1, 2013, in Devotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Not just to shake the Father’s hands. To embrace Him and be embraced by Him. Moving. Inspiring. Touching. Real. Kendall, I’m so filled with joy that you decided to become a co-author on Marmar’s blog. Your writing reaches deep in my heart as you are real about your struggles and your relationship with your Lord.

    The comments you are receiving speak their own words. It can be difficult writing about the journey of the human heart. You will find as you are open, as you dare to be real, others will be open with you.

    It is a blessing to be a part of Marmar’s blog. It is a joy to be working on this team of dedicated Christians, who show the realism of their love for Christ. You are all a gift to me and to those who reach out to you.

    Let us all keep shining the light of Christ within us!

    Kevin

    Everyone, keep shining your light to an ever-darkening world, who needs you. W

    • Thanks friend, I highly appreciate it! I LOVE writing and sharing my faith, publicly and privately, and I’m grateful to the Lord that I am able too and have the mindset and heart to do it as well!

      I knew that being obedient to the Lord’s movement to post this particular article was the right thing. Really felt moved that people here in this community needed to read this.

Share your thoughts on this post.

