No Christian Beggar

Never did I attempt to sound so scholarly in any of my posts. As much as possible, I see to it that my choice of words are simple. My aim in each post is to communicate clearly simple ideas and basic truth. From time to time I would throw a couple of bible verse, not over explaining it, allowing the word of God to speak for itself.

Let me admit from here that I am most influenced by Pastor Francis Chan, a Chinese pastor pastoring an American church. His down-to-earth way of persuading his readers and listeners has been adopted by my system.

In this post, allow me to talk about Psalm 37:25 and Acts 2:42-47. You may correct me if I got the verse wrong and may criticize if I’m out of context.

Psalm 37:25

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

25 I have been young and now I am old,
Yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
Or his [a]descendants begging bread.

This psalm is by David, the 2nd king of Israel. Some commentaries say this is an observation of David. If you read the whole chapter you would notice that David is speaking of truth. He is speaking of how God delivers His people.

Is David saying that you will not go hungry if you are a child of God? Does this mean that no christian should be literally poor?

I think about our present situation after Typhoon Haiyan left us homeless. Being the only christian in the family requires a lot of faith to keep your family  hoping and to keep yourself believing. For a couple of times in my mind I was saying  ‘David must be wrong’. You can’t just say to your family ‘we’re gonna be okay’ and to your friends say ‘our family is fine’.

Does people in my church knew my circumstances? Yes. Did anyone offer help? No. Did anyone ask if I needed something? No. Do I have to proactively beg to them for help? I don’t know. It’s funny how people from Canada and US inquires of you sincerely yet none among your church does. Am I bitter towards the church? No. Our church is a helping church. Every week we bring goods and stuff to be given away in our scheduled outreach program coupled with a medical mission.

Churches today are like that. Giving has become a program and not a habit. I think about the early church and how they took care of each other.

Acts 2:42-47

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

42 They were continually devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and [a]to prayer.

43 [b]Everyone kept feeling a sense of awe; and many wonders and [c]signs were taking place through the apostles. 44 And all those who had believed [d]were together and had all things in common; 45 and they began selling their property and possessions and were sharing them with all, as anyone might have need. 46 Day by day continuing with one mind in the temple, and breaking bread [e]from house to house, they were taking their [f]meals together with gladness and [g]sincerity of heart, 47 praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord was adding [h]to their number day by day those who were being saved.

Verses 44 and 45 is offensive to our individualistic culture. Keeping in mind the psalm of David I think the early church has understood this psalm very well. They understood that no child of God should be begging or lacking anything for God provides through the generosity of the church. If this early church practice is something we think not applicable to our generation then I think we should stop calling our selves church. We are not suppose to grab anyone to become member of the church and not be willing to love and care for that person. A sympathy should not be enough for the church is a body. A mouth doesn’t say to the hurting stomach, ‘I feel for you’ and not take food to ease the pain.

David saw it, the early church did it, our generation however says we can’t be it. If we can’t be it let’s not be a church. If we are a church then we can definitely be it.

authors

This might be my last post for the year and I’m not sure when can I post again. I would come visit and do some reading when I get the chance. For now I’m leaving you dear readers with my trusted co-authors. God bless you and may you meet Him soon.

About Marmar Dagu-ob

Will graduate life with honor and no regret.

Posted on November 20, 2013, in On Church and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. That is so thought provoking & I know it will move people like myself to action & keep giving. We can never out give our God. God bless!

  2. Thank you Marmar for sharing the word and important messages within, Especially for following me 🙂 god bless!

  3. I will be praying for you and your family. I pray that the church wakes up and people take this post seriously. We need to stop giving as a program and begin to do it as a habit. God bless and keep you my friend.

  4. In respose to your quote at the top of the pager: Don’t be afraid of success in small things that don’t really matter. Perhaps these small successes will help provide strength to work harder towards the bigger successes. 🙂 Also what is important and unimportant is mere opinion. All big things are compiled of small things. All. — Bear

    • that’s not really what the quote says. it speaks about whether the success has eternal value or just temporal. it’s not about small things or great things. i’m sorry if the text is too small.

      • I was reading “that don’t really matter” as meaning unimportant or small.

        But the temporal DOES matter.

        The danger of under valuing the temporal is that those People who take care of the temporal matters are sometimes devalued along with their work. The cooking of food, the cleaning of babies, the building of houses, the planting of crops, the fixing of cars, the creation of beauty in art and music and dance and crafts, and the People and their Souls who do these things have value and are worthwhile and when mundane tasks are done as best as one can they do Glorify God. It Glorifies God for us to recognize His Glory, even where others do not always think to look. The Glory is Everywhere….. Including the Temporal.

        Thank you for all that you have done. —- Bear

      • is that what the quote implies? I’m not american but I clearly understand what the quote says and what you’re saying has no relation to the quote at all.

      • Perhaps I am reading a different quote? Or perhaps I am interpreting the language differently than you instructor?

        1. “things in life that don’t really matter” does imply things that are unimportant, have no value, are small, or insignificant.” 2. If you were told that “things that don’t really matter” means temporal, then my interpretation is correct. 3. If you believe that the temporal doesn’t really matter then there is nothing of value on this Earth made by our Creator. 4. Or perhaps it is all just words and a poorly constructed quote. ——– I suspect #4.

      • I suspect you think your too wise. I was told it’s okay to lose an argument.

      • You are definitely correct with those two statements. 🙂
        May the Lord bless you and keep you. May his Countenance shine before you and give you peace.

  5. Quite a fascinating read! As usual, always good stuff 🙂

  6. Thank you Marmar. I love Francis Chan too. Blessings on you today and forever!

  7. Thank you for writing about those verses! It can be so easy to read them, and yet not “get” them or relate to them, at least for me it is. I’m so glad you popped by ‘Not Pretending’, so I could discover Mind’s Seat 🙂 Take care & God Bless in the New Year.

Share your thoughts on this post.

