How I have been blessed by the Philippine Madrigal Singers

It is rare that I write a blog piece endorsing a musical group.  The mission which Marmar has clearly articulated to us and all of you is that we are here to inspire you in your journey. The Lord has moved in my heart that one of the ways I can do that is to profile musical talent, who have an inspiratonal message.

To begin that journey I would like to say that the Philippine Madrigal Singers are a blessing to listen to.  No matter what struggles I am going through God uses these gifted vocalists led by their choirmaster, Mark Anthony Caprio, to lift me to a place of serenity.

Quoting from their web site: “Their choirmaster has led the group on many tours all over the world. In 2004 Mark Anthony Caprio led the choir to Europe, where they won both First prIzes in the Habanera and Polyphony categories in the Certámen Internacional de Habaneras y Polifonia held in Torrevieja, Spain. Among the Madz’ greatest recent accolades under their choirmaster’s direction are their victories in the 35th Florilege Vocal de Tours, France (2006), and at the 2007 European Grand Prix for Choral Singing held in Arrezo, Italy.”

Music can inspire us. It can comfort us in our struggles. It can bring peace to our storm.  I used the gift the Lord gave me to sing and pray for a friend through the night, who had a plan of how he was going to commit suicide. In the dawn of morning’s light the hold the Enemy had over this man’s life was broken. Treated as a piece of garbage and institutionalized because of his advanced cerebral palsy, he went on in spite of his many critics to take literacy training. He has written and published books of spiritual prose. He is training to be a pastor. This man of God, who blazes for his Lord,  is also a passionate social advocate and gifted painter.

Music teaches us that even with the increasing darkness in our world love can conquer hate and that there is  a world filled with beauty, love and an enduring hope. It is the hope we all have that we will put away our grave clothes of hatred and indifference, and put on the garments of the enduring hope we have in Christ. Hope for you. Hope for me. Hope for our hurting world.

It is my prayer that if it be the Lord’s will that He will open a door for me to learn from Mark Anthony Caprio, and offer the Lord’s gift in singing and songwriting He has given for His glory.

A friend and brother in Christ said as he prayerd about it with the Lord he could see a time when the gift in singing and songwriting the Lord gave me would provide a living income for Karen and me. It would be so wonderful if that vision was to become a reality!  It would be a glorious thing to say goodbye to being on the limited funds of disability, and say hello to a life of independence from it. Lord, let Your holy and perfect will be done.

I end with a gift to you more powerful than any words I could ever write of the Philippine Madrigal Singers doing what they do best  -singing to the glory and honour of God.

If you want to find out more about them, please go to:

http://www.philippinemadrigalsingers.com/index.html

You Raise Me Up

Anima Christi

Popular Songs – The Cocunut  -(one of my favourites fruits) will lift your spirits and have you smiling.

The Circle of Life

Sacred Songs

Songs of beauty and grace

P.S. My gift to you and all of them. Me singing Karen’s SerenadeIn the Garden and at my stepbrother’s church.

Karen’s Serenade -Kevin Osborne

In the Garden – Kevin Osborne

Lord, do You hear my wounded spirit? and God’s Song-Kevin Osborne speaking/singing at Christ the Living Word Alliance Church

My life story  A Boy’s Calling to be a Missionary of the Heart

https://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/a-boys-calling-to-be-a-missionary-of-the-heart/

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer (Psalm 19:14, New King James Version).

http://www.osborne2029.wordpress.com

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on November 26, 2013, in Devotion, On Christianity, On Church, On Circumstances, On Giving, On Life's Purpose, On Loving Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

    • Your reblogs are a gift I am always so thankful to receive. Please let me know how I can be a blessing to you.

      Keep up the great and inspiring writing!

      Kevin

      • So sorry for delay, ur words r a blessing. Thank u so much for being there. Plz visit again, much luv and peace.

      • I’m very glad my thoughts blessed you. If I have been there for you in a way you need,that brings me great joy. I see what I do as a writer on Mind’s Seat as a ministry of the heart. We seek as writers to have our thoughts mean something, to touch people, inspire them to reach the stars of their potential.

        I believe we can always strive to be more loving and giving people. We can best honour Madiba’s memory by being people of compassion. That’s what Madiba would have wanted.

        The Philippine Madrigal Singers show us that light, beauty and grace can touch many lives as we are willing to learn from them and other vocalists and musicians, that music can reach the soul. It can bring us peace in our storm and hope for a brighter tomorrow.

        Have a wonderful week!

        Kevin

  1. last December I saw there concert here in Bacolod and I must say they’re awesome singers and they can make you laugh as well.

    • They are and they did make me laugh quite a lot with that coconut song.

      What’s the update with you and your family? Has any food aid arrived for them yet?

      God’s comfort and abiding peace be with you and your family.

      Kevin

  2. Thank you, Kevin for visiting and following my blog. I listened to some of your songs. Altho the Madrigal singers are good, they are performers in my opinion, but you sing from a heart who loves God. My favorite is ‘This is My Father’s House’; your pitch and resonance was very good. Keep praising the Lord! God bless you and Karen. \o/

    • Hi Shofar

      Thank you so much for the kind and considerate compliment! 😀 I do love my Lord so much. He is my constant companion, my comfort in my times of distress, my fortress in times of trouble and my hiding place when I need restoration of body, mind and spirit. He is the sunshine in my soul.

      My wife, Karen says to people, “Kevin takes people to Heaven with him when he sings.” After I have finished singing there is often a long pregnated pause that happens before the one who announced I am singing can go on.

      I have been intubated seven times because of reactions connected with a then undiagnosed systemic mastocyosis. This is a very rare auto immune condition that causes a person to have way too many mast cells. These are cells that form part of your immune system. If you think of the mast cells as a neihbourhood block party where more unwelcome party crashers(mast cell increase) keep coming to the party for hours and even days at a time, that’s what systemic mastocytosis is like. More mast cells keep forming and they form more mast cells. It takes the mast cell police known as mast cell regulators to break up the party of mast cell proliferation. There is no known cure for the condition.

      I gave you this explanation of this condition to point out that God has used this challenge to get me much more connected with His amazing love for all people, including those with challenges. He has blessed me with the ability to speak sermons of God’s love through the singing and speaking voice He gave me.

      Shofar, your comment was very healing. So many have criticized me in my life. There are those who are jealous of the singing and public speaking gift He gave me to communicate the message of God’s love for the whsoever, even those with their disabiliies. He has allowed me to have mobility challenges that I might understand those who can’t walk at all.

      I am encouraged by your thoughtful spirit-filled words to keep on praising my Lord through spoken word and song.

      It would be wonderful if God should open a door that I meet you in person.

      On a personal note I’d love you to send me a video of your life story that also shows the beauty of Hawaii. And you just have to have you playing the ukelele in it. You could put it on you tube and send me the link or just send it as a video file.

      My email address is osborne2029@gmail.com

      Aloha and shalom, my Hawaian brother in Christ.

      Kevin

      • Thank you, Kevin for sharing how God is blessing and using you to bless others even through your challenges. There are stories and photos in ABOUT ME AND MY FAMILY Category on the Side Bar, photos and posts on family members, some of our art work, too. And more photos of our Philippines Mission Work, Prophetic Visions also in the Side and Tab Bars. I have to ask the grandchildren for help to do videos, but I will email you more photos. Blessings,
        Liz (Shofar)

Share your thoughts on this post.

