A Certain Kind of Father

That's_life8

I was watching an episode of “The Fairly OddParents” on Nickelodeon when a discussion on main character, 10-year-old Timmy Turner, came up on social media. Particularly, his father, Mr. Turner.

Mr. Turner is sort of an idiot. That’s the nicest way of putting it. It is unfortunate, but it is the truth. He’s not very bright and he often makes ridiculous mistakes. Think of a Homer Simpson whose kid appropriate without the obscene and offensive behavior.

While he does from time to time show a genuine love for his son, Timmy, Mr. Turner tends to show a kind of character stereotype that is all too often portrayed in media: the bumbling, silly-minded father.

Now, I don’t take the series THAT personal or serious, but at the same time I’m also not a Father, so I totally understand the sentiment of those who may be offended. Unfortunately, Timmy Turner’s situation with his mother but especially with his father is sadly much like the similar situation for kids across America and parts of the world.

A father whose a bit silly-minded and out of place and a mother whose focus is sometimes elsewhere. Both parents are busy and the child us left to his or her own devices.

This made me think of my own experiences with a father, my father, my dad on earth particularly. No, he’s not a bumbling idiot or anything like that, but he did have some traits that I both liked and disliked. I have a VERY strong opinion and view about those traits and I tend to stop short on specifics for politeness.

But, thankfully, not all father’s are like Timmy Turner’s dad. Most are very loving, kind and a prime example of God the Father, exemplifying the love and grace and mercy that can only come from Him and his Son, Jesus Christ.

We have a Father who sent His son in the right time, in the right way to right the wrongs that we have failed to make right. We have a Father, God, who knows what He’s doing, speaks into our heart and minds the truth and has given us the Word to be able to rightly divide it (2 Timothy 2:15).

We have a Father better than Timmy Turner’s dad and better than ours on earth. And that’s incredible, it’s AWESOME! That means that we have a standard to live by…so we can live the kind of great fatherly figure lifestyle that is symbolic like that of our Father in Heaven.

Now, I don’t want to miss pushing this point. Yes, we should live a Godly life. But how do we get to the Father?

Jesus Christ!

John 14:6-7 says the following:

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

“If you had known Me, you would have known My Father also; and from now on you know Him and have seen Him.”

Know Jesus, know the father!

At the end of the day, I cannot afford to have a “Timmy Turner” father experience.

Kendall Lyons is a Minister / Author / Cartoonist. You can find his latest work online on Cartoon Daily News and Kendall Lyons. He loves speaking and preaching in various events and is opening himself up to that Full-Time. He’s the author of “22 Life Lessons for Personal Growth” which is available for purchase. 

About Kendall Lyons

Author, Minister, Cartoonist

Posted on December 7, 2013, in Devotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Heh brother! We’ve missed you here at Mind’s Seat. I know you’ve been busy. I just wanted you to know how valued you are by me in this forum so many can see. I love you in the Lord, buddy! Your friendship is a better and more enduring gift than the latest Smart Phone, iPad or iPod.

    Both of us have had far from perfect fathers. Yet, here’s the amazing thing. God brought us both together from you reading one of my blogs. How amazing is that?

    Please call me so we can have a chat together about how God is leading both of us.

    Susan Irene Fox has joined us as a co-author. Having read many of the pieces on Susan’s blog and through our interactions together, I know she will be a blessing to many. Her writing comes from the heart of personal experience.

    I find myself continually blessed by the blog pieces of Marmar and all the fellow co-authors. We each have different gifts that the Lord is using in a collective way to inspire many to a life of an enduring hope in Christ, even amidst theirs and our most challenging life circumstances.

    Welcome back!

    Kevin

    • HI brother! You are SO right, it has been incredibly busy and far TOO long since I posted. LOL. I was just glad I was able too. I didn’t think I would be led to use “The Fairly OddParents” either in such a fashion. The Lord let me walk right in on that one. I was both blessed and fortunate!

      I will definitely give you a call soon because we got SO much talking to do. Also, are you available pretty soon like this weekend or this week. Maybe we can do a Skype chat and I would love to do that.

      Currently, I’m pretty busy with regards to my writing and getting the book out. I’ll email you more regarding this. If you can promote it on your end too to as many people as possible that would be greatly appreciated. IT makes the difference to how many more books I can get in order to sell and to give to my contributors such as yourself 🙂

      Everyone here is doing a FANTASTIC job!! You too of course 🙂 I couldn’t agree more. I will definitely have to introduce myself to Susan Irene Fox!

      Your friendship is SO appreciated and I’m so very grateful for what the Lord is doing through you, me and all of us!

      – Kendall

Share your thoughts on this post.

