I will testify to Love

As I watched this episode of Touched by an Angel my spirit felt that there are people who need its message of God’s comfort in time of loss. I pray that after you finish reading this post that you will feel the love of the Father embrace you.

It is three days before Christmas 1992. My Mom is near death from her second heart attack in the hospital. It feels like yesterday as  I remember her being taken away on a stretcher, her ashen face as it goes past me and into the ambulance. My stepfather says he can’t wake her up. He calls out to her in the apartment. “June. June! June!!” He leaps from his chair and shakes her. No response. He shakes her again. No response. Dad calls 911. I am there as Dad frantically performs CPR. No breath. No signs of life.

The paramedics arrive. I see them use the paddles on her chest from their defribillator. Dad sees my terror as mom’s body shakes from the force of the electrical current going through her body. He doesn’t want me to see the horrific scene any longer. Dad says, “Kevin, please go out in the hallway. I don’t want you seeing any more of this.”  It takes the paramedics several minutes to get mom’s heart started again. Those minutes seem like an eternity.

I go with Dad to the hospital.  Thoughts go racing through my mind. Oh God, this can’t be happening! There are so many more things I want to say to you, mom. I love you. I don’t want you to leave me. Not now, Lord. Not now! It’s way too soon! Mom’s only 57.

We get the gruesome news from the neurologist. The heart attack at the apartment and the one in the hospital has caused 90% brain death. My Dad fights back the tears as best as he can. He needs my help to make a difficult decision. If mom takes a third heart attack does he agree no measures should be taken to save her by signing a do not resuscitate (DNR) order? I fight back my own tears to say, “Dad, you know mom was always so full of life. She wouldn’t want to live that way. Sign the DNR order.”

Mom has a third heart attack. No measures are taken to revive her. It’s time to say goodbye.

It all seems so surreal. It can’t be happening. I try to convince myself this is a dream I will wake up from.  I hold her hand in that ER room. The room feels as cold as the Arctic Circle. There should be no life, no warmth in her hand, but there is. I cry as I hold her hand. On her index finger is her wedding ring. It emits a sparkle unlike I have ever seen from it before. Love’s flow from mother to son is given.

A comforting peace enters my heart.  My Mom  squeezes my hand. The warmth in her hand soothes my aching heart. Tears come in a river of sorrow I held back to be strong for my stepfather.  They are liquid prayers to my Father.

Then, the light clasp of my mom’s fingers over my hand lets go. She is in Heaven where she is rejoicing. She is fully healed. In that last touch of my hand there is God’s promise I will see her again.

My mom no matter how hard she tried couldn’t forget the many times she was beaten up and emotionally abused by my manic depressant schizophrenic father. I believe her pain that she could not let go of killed her spirit and then her body. My Lord in his love for her took her home to Heaven to heal my mom there.

In the episode Touched by an Angel Petey is dying from cystic fibrosis. He writes down a to do list before he is to be called home to Heaven.

1) Learn to play the piano, 2)Find a home for his pet iguana, Fluffy, 3)Find someone to sing with Mom,4)Find someone to shovel the snow,5) Help mom get someone to finish the song 6)Introduce his sister, Celine, to the real Celine Dion,7) Die at home and 8) Erect a flagpole to let the angels know where he is.

Celine as she is in shock says as she meets the children back stage,  she will sing a special song for them. During the concert she sings the song Love Can Move Mountains to Celine and Petey.

At the end of the concert Petey becomes very sick .At the hospital,  his mother,Audrey, played by Wynonna Judd, comes to the realization that her son will soon die.

Celine, with Tess’ help, resolves to help make it possible for Petey to die at home.They visit the HMO in hopes of getting a medical waiver allowing this. When Celine and Tess are denied this, Tess becomes furious. She demands to see the manager. The manager is Celine’s father. He says he wants so much to allow his son to die at home, but he says he cannot make an exception to the rules.

Celine returns to his office in a gown and pearls, and sings Love Can Move Mountains.  She challenges her father to cut through the bureaucratic red tape, so Petey can die at home.

Petey is brought home by an ambulance. While he sleeps, Audrey discovers his list, among them the wish that Audrey would finish her song. Audrey is overcome with tears. She can’t get past the first verse. Monica reveals herself to Audrey. She comforts her. Monica asks Audrey to tell the whole world about Petey’s love with her song.

Audrey works all night to finish the song. She is a gifted musician, who writes commercial jingles, but this song will turn out to be unlike any she has ever written. As morning breaks Audrey wakes up. Fighting back the tears she says Petey can cross that item off his list.

Petey is taken outside to find many neighbours gathered along with a church choir  to perform Audrey’s finished song, “The 151st Psalm.”  The main chorus brings comfort to Audrey as she sings. God’s promise spoken through Monica is fulfilled. Audrey will receive comfort as she sings the song. Tears form and yet with them an abiding peace as she sings “For as long as I shall live I will testify to love!”

Petey tells Andrew, “It is finished.” The notebook with the to do list slips from his hand. The young boy dies as the crowd continues to sing his song.

Monica takes the pen that Petey used to make his list. She  crosses of the last item, #9  off Petey’s list: “Go to Heaven.”

I can feel my mother in Heaven above testifying of her Father’s love. Then, the call comes to ME and it comes to YOU as your Father says, Will you do that too?

Let us all this new year think of things above as we testify to our Father’s love.

http://www.osborne2029.wordpress.com

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on January 2, 2014, in On Christianity, On Life's Purpose, On Loving Others, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Only God can give us the strength to keep going.

    • Hi Barbara

      I fully agree with you. Our own strength, self-determinism alone will not carry us, especially in times of adversity or losing a loved one. It is indeed sad that so many fall into the trap of using self-help books to find the answers to life’s problems and challenges. Any book that tells me I can find my power within I turn away from and stop reading immediately.

      A person I care about has been deeply hurt by those who attacked her for her right to state her Christian beliefs. I read all the posts in the thread. They ganged up on her because she was saying that her strength, her hope and her faith is in God. Sadly, the very ones who claim that she was lacking in understanding of their right to not believe in God, criticized and berated this person for her right to express her opinions.

      It has been said there are no atheists in fox holes. When faced with the very real possibility of their death, I wonder how many atheists would continue not to believe in God.

      I have respect for atheists to say they choose not to believe. Yet, I find it concerning when I see other ministers lessen the sharing of their own faith to placate atheists.

      Please pray for this person who was verbally abused by atheists and not supported by a minister. The Father calls me to pray also for those who spewed their hateful venom that the cancerous poison in their own lives would be healed.

      Have a most blessed 2014!

      Kevin

  2. I saw this episode when it originally aired as was deeply moved by it. Every time I hear that song, I remember. Thank you for reminding us of God’s love.

Share your thoughts on this post.

