Doing What HE Has Asked

by Susan Irene Fox

“And he went out not knowing where he was going.” Hebrews 11:8

Though I would never put myself in the lofty company of Abraham, I sometimes feel as though he must have felt when God sent him out to travel unfamiliar territory. I still experience discomfort when I have to drive an unfamiliar route.

So, here I am in my fourth year of writing Branches, and I am excited at its transformation.

It began as an elementary curriculum for Christian schools. It then morphed into curriculum for home school parents. After meeting with a Christian mentor at the end of last year, he expanded my sites to see that what I have been writing is more than curriculum – it is a devotional Bible collection for Christian families.

And let me back up here a moment, because some of you will understand this when I say that I have not been writing this at all. I have merely been a conduit for the Holy Spirit to write through me. For this has been the Lord’s task all along, and I never could have written seven books, never could have chosen the foundational Scripture for each book or the scaffold Scripture to illustrate the ideas, never could have conceived of the concepts to build God’s kingdom through families. I’ve only been a Christian since 2006.

What I have been is open to the work God wanted to do through me. I have been open to the Spirit’s leading, whichever way that has pulled me. I have remained steadfast, through enemy territory, holding tightly to His hand, never knowing where this will eventually end up. Will this ever be published? I have no idea.

What I do know is that I have grown to love and know God in a way I might never have had I said, “No,” to this venture. I might never have had a chance to submerse myself daily in His living word had I said, “No,” to this journey. I might never have used my gifts and talents in a way that would aim to build His kingdom had I said, “No,” to His question, “Will you?”

The Lord is my strength and my shield;

in Him my heart trusts, and I am helped;

my heart exults,

and with my song I give thanks to Him.

Psalm 28:7

 So, I continue to write for age groups 5-13 and their families. I continue to learn and grow and fine tune this incredible collection for families that will take the uncertainty and apprehension out of reading the Bible and help them use God’s word in their daily lives.

Though God only knows the specific itinerary or the eventual destination, I know I am on the journey of a lifetime, and I am thankful to be on this unknown path, because I know He is with me.

About Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human. Body: over 60; Reborn: August, 2006. Writing devotional workbooks for new believers. Dedicated to using God's grace and unconditional love to bring people into God's embrace.

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Facing the new year, On Life's Purpose, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I needed to hear this before I wrap up my own post.

  2. Loved this! You are such an inspiration! Being a teacher I am interested in your stuff. I teach at a public high school but have many friends in the private sector. We should talk.

Share your thoughts on this post.

