I’m not going to submit

Can it really be?
Is it true what they say,
Honestly?
I know I’ve been there,
Made some mistakes in the past.
But it’s not there forever, right?
Nothing’s going to last.
I hear they say mean things,
Curse my name, even.
But I don’t really care;
I have something to believe in.
Sure, it wretches my heart.
I never said I was perfectly fine.
I just keep living knowing
None of those curses are mine.
There are days my soul aches
And even my mind starts to lose it.
But at least to these lies
I’m not going to submit.

By Catherine Joy

About Catherine Joy Gregoire

A Passionate young woman whose dream is to inspire and influence others to follow their own dreams. A fresh writer pursuing the dream of becoming a published author; an avid crafter, an avid reader; I want to share God's love and message through my writing and through the arts.

Posted on January 19, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Never submit, to the lies and deceptions of others who try to taint your name, Instead use their negativity to show them you won’t back down.

  2. i like this post. wonderful advice – not easy sometimes, but an important message.

  3. Thanks for the word it was needed at the right Time

Share your thoughts on this post.

