How Adventurous Is Your Love!?

From the Cartoon Network series, "Adventure Time," Finn the Human and Flame Princess

From the Cartoon Network series, “Adventure Time,” Finn the Human and Flame Princess

For a few days I have had the topic of “Love” on my heart! No pun intended!

What is love anyway!? Can it possibly be “adventurous” as Finn made it out to be?

Monday evening I was watching an episode of the cartoon “Adventure Time” on Cartoon Network! In this episode, the main character, Finn, realizes that he really, REALLY likes the fire princess. Finn admits to her that he “likes her, like her,” but the fire princess is not buying it, especially after it seemed like Finn was playing with her heart.

The princess realizes that he’s totally opposite of her, confusing Finn to be a “water type.” Finn could care less that she’s a “fire type,” and that he’s human. Ultimately, they both say to each other something that moved me to write this article:

Princess: “Finn, Even if we like each other, we’re going to hurt each other!”

Finn: “No we don’t have too, I can take it, …I mean, can we try?”

Princess: “You will defy nature for me?”

Finn: “Uh yeah!”

With regards to love, you do stand a risk of being “burned.” You do stand the risk of getting hurt. But you also stand the risk of experiencing something powerful, special and beyond words. In fact, it takes LOVE for it to all to even be worth it!

I love Finn’s line because he looks past the obstacles between them and is willing to give it a try. He sees the best in this princess. He sees something that the viewing audience doesn’t. It was frustrating to me, but it wasn’t to Finn.

In 1 Corinthians 13, Paul was writing to the church in Corinth, and essentially saying that he could do tons of different activities and services for people, but if love was not a driving force, it was worthless. It all would be for nothing without love. Even to the sacrifice of his own life, if its not in love, its worthless ( verse 3 ).

So, what is Love. Love is outlined beautifully from 1 Corinthians 13:3-7 from the New King James Version:

And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

So, ask yourself, how much can you take!? It doesn’t say anything about it being “easy,” but love has its benefits.

Love made Finn consider a seemingly unlikely match for a mate.

Love keeps me writing articles to help people.

Love moves and motivates us to do what we don’t want to do.

Love was involved when Jesus gave His life for us!

How Adventurous is your Love!?

About Kendall Lyons

Author, Minister, Cartoonist

Posted on January 26, 2014, in On Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I LOVE Adventure Time! 🙂 Also, I remember this episode.

    I appreciate this post, but I struggle with it. I spent two years trying to “make it work” with a man who did not share my love for Jesus, because my love was adventurous. I truly loved him, and in some way I think he loved me, too, but we really did both hurt each other a lot, and now I am married to a wonderful person who loves Jesus like I do. It’s a different kind of love, but it’s a real one. Sometimes I still second-guess myself, but when I really think about it, I know that I’m freer to be who God has called and is calling me to be, with this man, than I would have been with that other.

  2. I cannot wait to share this with my daughter when she wakes up. I love how you knit the show and the Word together. I know it wasn’t the intention of AT’s creators, but I respect anyone who finds our Creator in such things. God bless.

  3. deaniedaisyxoxo

    Reblogged this on Girl Meets Life.

Share your thoughts on this post.

