Change one life and you can change the world

If the youth of the world believe it, all of us working together can change the world.

We often don’t think that our life will impact many lives. We who are dedicated to having better communities and a kinder, more just society, hope that we will leave a legacy of changed lives, who are inspired by our life to change other people’s lives.

I know in my own life as I have faced the struggles of abuse, challenges to my health and the challenging walk of poverty, that there have been times when I felt as I was on the sidelines of ministry, that my life really wasn’t making that much of an impact. Sometimes, as we are in a spiritual fog, we fail to see that our life is making a profound life-changing difference to someone else.

I have been called by my Lord to give all of you today a message of hope to encourage you, to make your steps a little lighter, a little more joyful. You, wherever you are, are on a unique journey. No one else can live your life except you. No one else can do the things the way you can do them, because you have been uniquely shaped by all of your experiences.

The challenge for all of us is to make lemonade out of all of the lemons of our life. How do we do that? I believe the answer lies in changing one life.

Make it your personal mission to reach out to one hurting soul, right now, this very moment. If your neighbour, church member, friend or family member is sick, bring them some meals until they are well. If you see a homeless person on the street give them a meal and some of your time. Where possible and only of the homeless person is open to it, lead the individual to someone in a community service agency, who can help find that homeless person a place to live. Volunteer at a drop in centre, a food bank or being a Board member on a voluntary non-profit board. Join an organization dedicated to advocacy for better communities and a more just world, where everyone is given an equal opportunity to succeed in life.

Answer the call to missionary service at home and abroad. Trust in the Lord to be with you. I was a missionary in South Korea. Through the challenges associated with adjusting to another culture, the Lord was with me. I took that leap of faith and remain glad that I did. I grew from that stretching experience. I came back to Canada with an increased feeling that I am blessed by comparison with those who I saw living in poverty like that Korean War veteran, who has only stumps for legs, as he propels himself with his arms on a crude wooden board with rubber wheels, begging for money, because his government offers him no pension for his years of faithful service to his country.

In a Korean ambulance as I was dying from a severe asthma attack complicated by bronchitis, I felt the call of the Holy Spirit, that I would be fashioned into being a passionate social advocate and a counsellor of the heart. God has been true to His word. Through my struggles He is teaching me and continues to bring mentors to guide me.

University, Bible College and seminary Presidents, give out more bursaries and scholarships to promising students in poverty who need a hand up.

Business and community leaders, give  internships to those who you feel is deserving. It could be for that gang member, teenager or young man or woman who is trying desperately to find a way out of their misery of poverty, to be given a reason for living.

Music producers, give a record contract to anyone you feel could use that boost to their spirit, to feel that their talent will go somewhere, to be a gift to a world so much in need of more songs filled with love and compassion. Vocalists and musicians, give your talent to community and global fundraising for those in poverty.

Those who are wealthy, give dream scholarships for further schooling and internships for any person of promise brought to your attention.

Support one child either at home or abroad needing help to escape their vicious cycle of unrelenting and agonizing poverty.

Offer your time to a senior citizen needing your help with things that need to be fixed in their home or running some errands for them.

All of you, do whatever you can to make a difference in one life. Then, as you change one life, ask that this person would pay it forward by changing another life.

Mother Teresa said,

At the end of life we will not be judged by how many diplomas we have received, how much money we have made, how many great things we have done. We will be judged by ‘I was hungry, and you gave me something to eat, I was naked and you clothed me. I was homeless, and you took me in.’ Hungry not only for bread – but hungry for love. Naked not only for clothing – but naked of human dignity and respect. Homeless not only for want of a home of bricks – but homeless because of rejection.

So, let us all do what we can for the season we are here to be hope for the hopeless, light for those living in darkness and a poverty of mind, body, spirit and soul. When one person can hope no longer, let us be their hope until that individual can hope again. Let us have the light of Christ in us, so the darkness in other people’s lives will not win. God will. Let us also never forget the need of people on low incomes and in abject poverty for food.

Let us all work, pray and believe together that beyond the darkness of a person’s today, we  have the resources to give them a realistic hope for a brighter tomorrow.

One changed life creates a ripple effect of change as that life changes another, which changes another, until we change our community, and then the world.

I do not believe that the dream of leaders like Martin Luther King, Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Nelson Mandela, and now a teenager named Malala Yousafzai, for a kinder and more just world are unrealistic. All I have said is realistic and obtainable. God has given us all the resources, intellect, passion and creativity to make all I’ve said achievable not in decades, but within years.

We can change one life and change the world together.

P.S. I would ask that you pray into this international poverty alleviation plan the Lord and I have put together. Then, ask yourself if you want to be a part of this vision. I don’t know if this plan will be accomplished in my lifetime, and for me that is not important. I may not be the one who God calls upon to enact this plan. I do believe someone even if it is not me is being called to take leadership of these initiatives.What is important is that you all give it prayerful and serious consideration.

I  prayerfully ask that you reblog this piece and call others to reblog it, so the message the Lord put upon my heart gets out to as many people as possible.

Here it is.

https://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/why-does-god-want-agape-international-ministries-started/

http://www.osborne2029.wordpress.com

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on January 29, 2014, in compassion, On Life's Purpose, On Loving Others, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sometimes we get really really discouraged in the NGO PBO world. Changing the world can feel like an ant having to cross miles that an elephant could much easier cover. Raising funds for crucial projects here in South Africa can feel like that, especially when seeing how the super rich wouldn’t even have to blink to alleviate all those needs.

    Currently I am in the process of collecting, buying and making educational material to be taken to a very poor special needs school next week. In South Africa, every day about 30 underaged people are raped and in many cases even do not survive. Rape victims are as young as 10 month to 5 years old. The state of social services regarding under aged rape victims is saddening in South Africawhere the triage of services is not working as effectively as in other provinces.

    I am also in the process of putting together parcels for the young victims: Out of years of experience in a South African setting I use a soft toy, a chocolate bar, kiddies juice, a hoodie or cap to feel safe in and maybe something to colour in or sticker activity to have an outlet for nervousness.

    NGOs and PBOs are the ones doing all the little steps to help where the need is greatest. Do not give up your good work!!!

Share your thoughts on this post.

