Let it Rain

“For after all, the best thing one can do when it is raining is let it rain.”
― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I had discovered some time ago that two of the most powerful words you can ever say is, “oh well.” It is amazing what is accomplished when we just allow the rain to rain. And how often do we forget what comes after the rain?

It has been rather difficult for me to maintain an attitude of contentment. Always do I want to be older, smarter, more achieved, already somewhere I want to be. I live so much in the future I am always forgetting the present. I struggle with the acceptance of how young I still am, how little I know, how inexperienced I am. I forget to remember that I’m perfectly alright, and everything will, in time, be perfectly alright.

So, what shall I do with myself? I suppose I’ll let it rain, for that’s the best thing one can do when it’s raining.

About Catherine Joy Gregoire

A Passionate young woman whose dream is to inspire and influence others to follow their own dreams. A fresh writer pursuing the dream of becoming a published author; an avid crafter, an avid reader; I want to share God's love and message through my writing and through the arts.

Posted on February 17, 2014, in On Circumstances and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I totally get it! After forty years of living I’m still learning the art of contentment. I’m reminded, however that in order for growth/change/the harvest to take place we must let it rain.

  2. Contentment is one way to a happy life. And rain is significant; after it, we’ll all the a rainbow.

  3. And thus came the rain,
    washing away all that was left.
    It trickled down slowly unto my soul,
    It simply added to my pain.
    I sought ahead what I could not see
    I fought a way that would not be,
    I just wanted everything…for me
    to be laced with simplicity.
    And thus came the rain,
    Washed away all that was mundane.

    I’m still trying to be content and more than often it rains on my parade, but so, I enjoy it.

  4. I needed those words. I’m unemployed as I recover from back surgery. I just discovered a huge leak in the gas tank of my car. (LOL!) “Oh well!”
    Hey, I think those were just the words I needed! That really works! Thanks!

Share your thoughts on this post.

