When God Let’s You See The Kid Version of You

img_4080

I had the bright and shining opportunity to participate in an authors conference a few weeks ago.

I was welcomed with a table with my name on it as I walked in with my “Gravity Falls” hat known to be worn by main character Dipper Pines and a laptop and backpack!

The experience was very humbling and the opportunity to meet prodigious, self-published authors was incredible!

I especially enjoyed the fact that I was able to share my story of bullying and being the “different” one most of my life in my book! But, something else was going on here! And it was pretty cool!

These three boys came to my table to check out my work but in three different periods of time. One kid was sort of looking and was thinking and processing it all. Another boy was just hypnotized by my cartoon work showing on the table. The third boy was sort of shy.

Each of them had something about them that was unique, different and quite peculiar. And as an added bonus they purchased my book.

Each of the boys I came across reminded me of where I came from and how far I’ve come. They humbly showed me how this boy who looked down as he walked, felt totally socially, mentally and physically awkward has come to a place where he’s able to reach out to other boys and girls and men and women.

Jesus said the following in Matthew 18:3-5:

And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me.

We have a responsibility to show the world in a childlike (not childish) fashion where we came from, who we are and whose we are and humbly accept and love one another, especially children and teens.

I think that God allowed me to see myself from a few years back to remind me of this text and of my back story…to never be ashamed of my storyline…to keep fighting even when it looks like the story is just about over.

Even moreso, teaching me how to embrace the young and peculiar and eccentric so that they may know what Kingdom living looks like. After all, I don’t want to miss out on he fact that God gave me a glimpse of what I looked like before I realized what the Kingdom of God really meant!

Kendall is a Self-Published Author and a Youth Minister and Cartoonist. You can find more of his work on KendallLyons.com.

About Kendall Lyons

Author, Minister, Cartoonist

Posted on March 4, 2014, in On Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

