Words I Struggle to Believe

There are a few words I’ve been told,
A few words that I’ve heard
That I can’t seem to believe,
And some I shamefully find absurd.
It’s been said That I’m strong
When I rather think I’m weak.
I’m glad I’m special to some,
But to myself I’m too bleak.
Just one voice has told me I’m lazy,
And that would be my own.
I’m probably the opposite,
But it’s a word I’ve never known.
I aim to be inspiring;
It’s one of my ultimate goals.
But that’s a word hard to accept,
And it pains me deep in my soul.
Everyone dreams of being a difference,
But difference cannot be understood.
If I only chose to believe it,
Then maybe I could.
Talented and beautiful
Have never been easy to know.
I have a future, perhaps,
But this future is coming slow.
These are words I struggle to believe,
Words I can’t seem to trust.
But, with time and faith, and God,
I know, eventually, my belief will adjust.

By Catherine Joy

About Catherine Joy Gregoire

A Passionate young woman whose dream is to inspire and influence others to follow their own dreams. A fresh writer pursuing the dream of becoming a published author; an avid crafter, an avid reader; I want to share God's love and message through my writing and through the arts.

Posted on March 9, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Daily Enduring Truth and commented:
    So often we don’t see ourselves as others see us. We have a hard time believing the good things that others say about us. This poem does a great job of showing that internal struggle.

  2. The ‘true’ never ending story…..

  3. Wow you really have an amazing blog ❤
    It would mean so much to me if you follow my blog too and give me some tips on having a much better and successful blog 🙂 This is the link:
    http://couchpotahto.wordpress.com/

  4. This post, I believe sums up quite well how many in America and throughout the world are conditioned to feel. But you know, when we are born we are wrapped in swaddling clothes of confidence. Then we start our journey called life, where society, circumstances, and others pick and pull at that blanket of confidence until it is tattered and barely a thread. You do not have to accept the conditioning of the world though, because God tells us in Jeremiah 29:11, “I know the plans I have for you. Plans which bring you a HOPE and a FUTURE.” Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me.” You have a God spark buried in you. You can bring it forward and walk in the confidence He has planted there! God bless you!

  5. I really like this. Let patience have its perfect work. Amen.

Share your thoughts on this post.

