Spirit of a Child

Dear readers: I wrote this prayer before a worsening chest infection resulted in a 911 call.  An immediate referral is in progress for me to be a patient in the complex care unit of Bridgepoint Health Care Centre in Toronto. My auto immune condition that doctors think is mastocytosis is on a sharp decline.

Today, it took oxygen and three masks of Ventolin to keep me from deteriorating towards being intubated. God is in control. Somehow out of all of this many of His suffering children who come up against one brick wall after the other to get the care they need will finally be heard.

Believe me, as I recover, I will be shouting along with others for all people with chronic and rare conditions to get the help they need for a life of quality, beauty and even joy. I will fight for the right of all people to be treated with the dignity and the respect that is their fundamental human right, and beyond that, how we care for all people is the measure of society’s collective humanity.

Let the Enemy fire his darts. He will not win. God will. God will because darkness can never defeat the Light. Love will win the victory over government policies that fail to look at the people they hurt.

We need to really start giving all people the hand up they need. They don’t need government bean counters who look at the bottom line over people, to tell them NO. We are tired of hearing NO. Tell people who need help, who only ask for that one open door, that one caring soul, that you will be there for them. You will stand with them through the storm.

You will help your neighbor. You will help your friend. You will help those losing hope until they can find their hope again.

Please pray that God breaks through the bureaucratic walls that prevent people like me from getting all the medical and vocational supports they need. While we all pray, struggle, work and believe together for that dream that Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. envisioned of treating all people with love, equality, justice and dignity,  let us take time out to have the spirit of a child.

Spirit of a Child

Almighty God, give us the strength not of ourselves to forgive all who have hurt us. Help us to let go of our right to hold on to unforgiveness, as if it was a badge of honour. An unforgiving heart is a venomous poison to our soul. Help us, oh God, to draw out that poison wherever You make it known to us. Let us never forget that in You we have the challenging example of forgivenss in how You forgave those who insulted, despised, rejected, ridiculed and then laughing and scorning at Your holy Name, were responsible for Your beating and crucifixion.
When the Enemy whispers to us that we are justified in anger that eats away at is like gnats, steals away our joy, takes away our energy and life like the parasite that it is, let us speak the truth that You love us with an everlasting love. We are Your blessed children. We are Your wounded sheep, who need to be fed with the manna of Your agape love.
Lift us beyond our inner rage, that smouldering fire of hate and indifference, to be Your people of passion, courage and having within us the outstretched hands of Christ’s forever love.
Hear us as we call to You. Let us pour out all the hurt, all anxiety, all our inner seething rage at Your feet. Take us in Your tender arms of love.
Let us reawaken the playful child in us. Help us to give ourselves permission to take off the mantle of our adult life and just do the things we did when we were children, that made us feel happy inside. Go to children. Let them be your teachers. Let them re-ignite the child in you.
Jump on your bed. Sing the songs of your childhood. Husbands, make funny faces at your wives. Wives, make funny faces at your husbands. Have treasure hunts. Throw snowballs at your spouse and your children. Make a snow man. For those in warmer climates, walk in the sand as the waves caress your feet. Build a sand castle. Run in a sprinkler, letting the love of God’s water flood your being.
Take a day each week away from your responsibilities and just have a whole bunch of fun being a kid again. Let us all remember that to enter the Kingdom of Heaven we need to come with the spirit of a child.
Father, let us all come to You with the heart of a child. Heal the wounded child within us. Let forgiveness flow. Let healing pour in. Let the healing balm of love come within us.
Let us all be Your children.
Amen
About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on March 28, 2014, in compassion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Abba Father,

    We thank you for Kevin and his life for you. Father we ask in the name of Jesus Christ that you begin to heal Kevin of the autoimmune disease and the breathing issues. Father, we give You the praise and thanksgiving for this healing. Lord, how marvelous is Your power and how matchless is it as well. Lord, we know that no weapon formed against us shall prevail. We are destined to win and we will win as we have countless saints cheering us on.

    Lord, please give Kevin and Karen extra strength during this time. May Kevin not have to go on a vent again but Lord may you continue to be his Deliverer and his Healer.

    I thank you for Kevin and Karen, and even though I know I will more than likely not meet them here on earth they are family none the less and I keep them before you. Thank you Father for their heart for You and lost and missing from You. Please grant them favor from on high

    We give You praise, glory, and adoration for You are the only hope that we have. Be with the doctors as they work with Kevin, and Lord please allow him to rest during this time if possible to rebuild his system. I ask this in Your holy name and by Your son Jesus Christ and the stripes He bore for our healing. Amen.

    • Thank you for that beautiful prayer! I have sent you an email with the latest update. The bronchitis is still quite severe. I ended up at North Bay ER after reacting to fumes from a glue factory 20 kilometres south of North Bay, Ontario.

      Treatment with nebulized glutathione, which is a powerful anti-oxidant, is being seriously considered. I am showing clear signs of increasing toxicity in my body. The doctors think I am deficient in glutathione as a result of my auto immune conditions.

      On the plus side of things I got an A + on two major counselling assignments in my M.A. -Ph.D. program in Clinical Christian Counselling with the distance school St. James the Elder Theological Seminary. Dr. Ewart, who is the Principal of the seminary is also mentoring me through my program.

      Upon ordination as a priest I will qualify as a chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration. One of my Linkedin connections is a reserve chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration. I was most uplifted that he said in a personal letter to me that he would welcome a man like me being a chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration.

      In your prayers ask the Lord if He is opening up this future door. Sometimes, the Lord gives a word to another Christian as a confirmation of a calling on someone’s life.

      I am coming closer to starting our Christian counselling practice. Pastors in the area have expressed interest in sending people to me.

      A Master Christian Life Coach, who is another of my connections on Linkedin, has expressed that she wants to when possible give me a scholarship for the two days of training to become a certified Christian Life Coach. If you are interested in this direction, please let me know. If I get two people signing up for training I can get a scholarship. The people signing up under me get a reduced cost for their training. A certified Christian Life Coach can make $95 an hour for in office sessions and $65 for online sessions.

      Perhaps, you know others who would be interested in this kind of opportunity. They can email me at osborne2029@gmail.com for further details if they are interested.

      May the Lord bless you richly.

      Kevin

  2. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing this and to pray with you. Let’s pray; Father I thank you for this one, who even while feeling poorly himself, prays and advocates for others. Father, your word tells us that where 2 or 3 are joined together in agreement in prayer what they ask, they shall receive. Your word tells us in Deut., Isaiah, Job, Psalms, John, Jeremiah, and more of the good plans you have for us. Plans for our welfare and not calamity. Lord, I ask you to bring healing and restoration tonight to your child. Please heal and restore his body, mind, and spirit. Father, he loves you with all of his heart and he shares your love with others. I thank you for his desire to allow Your will be done in his life. I thank you for the blessings you have given him, and I thank you for the blessings yet to come. I ask you to open doors which have been slammed in his face. I ask you to place compassion and love in the hearts of those slamming the doors. Father, hear our prayer and answer it so that ALL may KNOW that YOU ARE GOD! Bless you, O Adonai, God who hears and answers our prayers. Thank you Lord, for this man who so willingly serves you and others. Thank you for his love and compassion towards others. In Jesus name I pray and ask these things. Amen.

    My brother, I am continuing in prayer for you! God bless you!

    • Hi Regina

      Thank you for that beautiful and uplifting prayer!. The bronchitis is still quite severe. I ended up at North Bay ER after reacting to fumes from a glue factory 20 kilometres south of North Bay, Ontario.

      Treatment with nebulized glutathione, which is a powerful anti-oxidant, is being seriously considered. I am showing clear signs of increasing toxicity in my body. The doctors think I am deficient in glutathione as a result of my auto immune conditions.

      On the plus side of things I got an A + on two major counselling assignments in my M.A. -Ph.D. program in Clinical Christian Counselling with the distance school St. James the Elder Theological Seminary. Dr. Ewart, who is the Principal of the seminary, is also mentoring me through my program.

      Upon ordination as a priest I will qualify as a chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration. One of my Linkedin connections is a reserve chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration. I was most uplifted that he said in a personal letter to me that he would welcome a man like me being a chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration.

      In your prayers ask the Lord if He is opening up this future door. Sometimes, the Lord gives a word to another Christian as a confirmation of a calling on someone’s life.

      I am coming closer to starting our Christian counselling practice. Pastors in the area have expressed interest in sending people to me. I have made a covenant with my Lord that NO ONE will be denied counselling because of inability to pay the fees. Rates will be based upon individual financial circumstances.

      A Master Christian Life Coach, who is another of my connections on Linkedin, has expressed that she wants to when possible give me a scholarship for the two days of training to become a certified Christian Life Coach. If you are interested in this direction, please let me know. If I get two people signing up for training I can get a scholarship. The people signing up under me get a reduced cost for their training. A certified Christian Life Coach can make $95 an hour for in office sessions and $65 for online or phone sessions.

      Perhaps, you know others who would be interested in this kind of opportunity. They can email me at osborne2029@gmail.com for further details if they are interested.

      May the Lord bless you richly.

      Kevin

  3. Such a beautiful prayer! It touched me. I will be sharing this with my friend who suffers from CIDP. Her struggle is so very similar to yours but she chooses to lean on the everlasting arms. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Share your thoughts on this post.

