Come! Did You Step?

Come unto me all ye that labour and are heavy laden and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn of me, for I am meek and lowly in heart and you shall find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

sunrise1

Surely these words, could be believed, are such as every human heart might gladly hear! You who call yourselves Christians profess to believe such rest is available, yet how many of you take no single step towards him who says “COME”, lift not an eye to see whether a face of mercy may not be gazing down upon you? Is it that you do not believe there ever was such a man they call Jesus? Or is it that you are doubtful concerning the whole significance of his life? If the man said the words, he must have at least believed he could fulfill them. Who that knows anything about him can for a moment say that this man did not believe what he spoke?

Hear me, my friends, I dare not yet say I know there is a Father. I can only say with my whole heart I hope we indeed have a Father in heaven but this man says he knows. If he tells me he knows, I must listen and observe that it is his own best he wants to give; no bribe to obedience to his will but the assurance of bliss if we will but do as he does. He wants us to have peace, his peace, peace from the same source as his. For what does he mean by “Take my yoke upon you and learn of me?” He does not mean, “Wear the yoke I lay upon you”. I do not say he might not have said what amounts to the same thing at other times but that is not truth he would convey in these words. He means, “Take upon you the yoke that I wear, learn to do as I do, who submits everything and refers everything to the will of my Father. Yea my will only insofar as I carry out his will be meek and lowly in heart and you shall find rest for your souls”.

With grief of humanity in his heart, in the face of the death that awaited him, he yet says, for my yoke, the yoke I wear is easy, the burden I bear is light. What made that yoke easy and that burden light? That it was the will of the Father. If a man answer, any good man who believed in a god might say the same thing and I do not see how that can help me, my reply is that this man says, “Come unto me and I will give you rest, asserting the power to give perfect help to him that comes. No one else can do that. Does all this seem too far away my friends and very distant from the things about us? The things close by do not give you peace. Peace has to come from somewhere else. And do not our souls themselves cry out for a nobler, better, more beautiful life?

Excerpt from – Discovering the Character of God – George MacDonald

About awftt

A young woman with a burning desire to empower the lives of many, particularly women. Through my experiences, I have been motivated to give a helping hand to the not so strong. Woman on fire to go higher. Follow me on twitter @arisewoman_org LETS ARISE!!!

Posted on April 7, 2014, in On Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

