Focus on Him, focus on blessings

Let me tell you a little story, something God recently taught me.

One day I was going on my walk through my neighborhood. It had been a few days since I last walked, and I was rather tired and decided to cut the walk a little short. But God told me to go the whole way, and at first I was reluctant, but I went.

As I turned the corner, God told me to name three things I was thankful for. That took me by surprise a little. So first I thanked him for my gift of writing, how much it makes my life wonderful and how much I love having this gift. Then I went a little blank. I looked up and saw the sun, so I thanked him for the sun, how it gives us warmth and light and how it’s healthy for us. I looked around and saw the trees, and I thanked him for the leaves that change color in the seasons and that make the world beautiful. I have to say, as I was giving thanks for those three things, I felt very peaceful and free.

All of the sudden, I became aware of where I was. I was halfway down the street, nearly home. I realized that the part of the walk that I had dreaded had just zipped by and I never experienced any feeling of misery or exhaustion. God told me it was because I was focusing on Him and on giving thanks and so the miserable part flew by and I was almost where I wanted to be.

He then asked me, “What does that mean?”

I stopped. “What do you mean what does it mean?” I asked. He simply repeated his question. So I thought about it a while. The answer came upon me smoothly, like it just floated into my head.

“It means…that when I’m focused on you and on my blessings, the miserable part in life, the parts that I dread, just fly by with hardly a notice, and I’m suddenly almost where I want to be.”

“Exactly.”

I stopped in the middle of the sidewalk and my mouth fell open.

“God that was incredible!” I said aloud. I then proceeded to walk the rest of the way with the biggest goofy grin on my face. I was amazed and happy.

“That’s what you have to do, Daughter,” he said. “During this time that you’re dreading and that is making you miserable, you just need to focus on me and my blessings and you’ll find that it will zip by, be much less miserable, and suddenly you’ll nearly be where you want to be.”

God really does work in mysterious ways. And he sometimes teaches us in the most unique ways. Isn’t he incredible?

 

About Catherine Joy Gregoire

A Passionate young woman whose dream is to inspire and influence others to follow their own dreams. A fresh writer pursuing the dream of becoming a published author; an avid crafter, an avid reader; I want to share God's love and message through my writing and through the arts.

Posted on April 7, 2014, in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. A simple yet profound lesson for us all.

  2. I really love this. We can all learn something here. 🙂

  3. Initiator ;-)

    I loveee it…! nice 😉

Share your thoughts on this post.

