Our greatest wealth is in helping others

praying hands on Bible

Almighty God, help us in our struggles. Give us eyes to see that often in our greatest difficulties lies the seeds of our most bountiful blessings. Help us, oh God, to see that our success is not measured merely by the wealth we obtain in life. Give us that clarity in our minds and hearts that the far greater richness of our lives is in helping others, in changing our community and our world one life at a time. We are not all called to be an evangelist like Billy Graham or a theologian like John Stott. We are all called though to listen and learn from others, and have teachable spirits. Amen.

https://www.facebook.com/dreamingtogetherforabetterworld

http://www.osborne2029.wordpress.com

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on April 9, 2014, in On Loving Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Amen! I am praying this prayer with you as I cry out for one more soul!

    • Hi Joseph

      I thank God for you. Your thoughts and prayers are always uplifting to my spirit. What a blessing that though we are separated by thousands of miles, we are united as brothers of the faith we seek by the abiding grace and wisdom of God to profess!

      Brother, thank you for that resounding Amen! I will join with you in crying out for that one more soul. Please let me know what your prayer requests are. If you are open to it, I would welcome being one of your prayer partners.

      My email address is osborne2029@gmail.com. I am only an email away any time you need me.

      Please pray for the healing of my bronchitis I’ve had several weeks because of an ongoing respiratory bug. A referral has been made to the complex care unit of Bridgepoint Health Care Centre in Toronto. I have what doctors think is a rare auto immune condition. With each auto immune attack from a mast cell activation condition there is a further decline in mobility, energy and speech and an increase of pain throughout my body.

      Doctors are suggesting a nebulized anti-oxidant called glutathione to remove toxins and help clear up my bronchitis. Below, is a segment from Dr. Oz on this anti-oxidant, which is vital for life. If more people knew about the health benefits of glutathione, it would end up costing Big Pharma billions of dollars in medications I submit that under a doctor’s care, many could reduce the powerful medications they are on.

      I have been accepted for short stay respite care. My pastor says that I am being sent on assignment by my Lord to be a witness for Christ through the daily living of my life. My first short stay of five days starts in May if I am accepted into the Northview Lodge. It wouldn’t surprise me if my Lord has me develop a singing and counselling program for the senior citizens and others with serious health conditions. I will just shine my light and let my Lord take care of the rest.

      I am moving closer to starting my counselling practice in Englehart. Pastors are already expressing much interest in sending people to me.With only a handful of counsellors in northern Ontario I have a strong feeling in my spirit that when I am recovered my wife, Karen and I, will have a busy practice.

      Kevin does God dance thanking Him for his wife Karen’s acceptance into a M.Div. program at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. We hope that she will start in May. A generous school bursary will cover 85% of course fees. Please pray for God’s full provision for all course fees and books needed.

      On the positive side of things I got an A + on two major counselling assignments in my M.A.-Ph.D. program in Clinical Christian Counselling with St. james the Elder Theological Seminary. When I am ordained I will be able to work as a chaplain with the U.S. Veterans Administration. A prayer partner and colleague of mine on Linkedin touched my spirit when he said he would be glad to have a man like me serving the veterans. I will continue to make it a matter of prayer if this is a direction my Lord wants me to go. It could mean there is a future move to the U.S. in His plan or that He would have me go there for crisis situations and return home. Please pray and see if the Lord says anything to your heart about all of this.

      There is a longer plan of a M.Div. through Trinity College that I believe is part of God’s journey. I will be asking about transfer credit from my M.A. -Ph.D. program into an M. Div. program. Please pray that the Dean of Divinity would be open to this. Pray for guidance as I make the inquiry.

      The more I learn the more I realize I don’t know. I feel I can never learn enough to serve my Lord.

      Have a Son-filled week!

      Kevin

  2. so right Kevin – when we do something for ourselves it is satisfying but when we do something for others we experience a different high far superior to satisfaction.

    • Hi Indrajit

      Thank you for taking the time out of your day to comment. I value yours and all comments of our readers.

      Well said! I couldn’t agree more. I think we look at life in a far more positive way as we see and seek to help with the needs of others. Our focus gets off self and moves towards bringing help to those who find themselves at times lost in a fog. I know that place well, having been there myself. Even as I fight the daily battle of my health conditions which by God’s grace I believe I shall overcome, reaching out to others uplifts me, gets those positive helping endorphins flowing and in that process I begin to feel some greater level of wellness. This makes the struggle of ongoing bronchitis I have had for several weeks as a result of a respiratory bug easier to deal with.

      My Lord helps me to see that He is using me to help others through the thoughts I write. Yet, I feel that in His merciful love, He first helps me. Perhaps, this is His loving gift for sharing inspiring, comforting, edifying and uplifting thoughts.

      I open you up to the river of God’s richest blessings!

      Kevin

Share your thoughts on this post.

