The Twenty-Third Psalm

A Psalm of the Shepherd,

by the shepherd

by Susan Irene Fox

Probably like you, I have read and recited David’s psalm many times. It is only recently as I asked the Holy Spirit to take me deeper into this beautiful prayer, that I have seen its timeless beauty, felt new life in its words, and understood the expansiveness of its meaning.

©Nicholas Tarling freedigitalphotos.net

©Nicholas Tarling freedigitalphotos.net

1The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.

2He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.

3He leads me in right paths
for His name’s sake.

4Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for You are with me;
Your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

©zole4 freedigitalphotos.net

©zole4 freedigitalphotos.net

5You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

6Surely Your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the Lord
forever.

The more I read His Word, the more I see and share His love with this online church, this community of doubters, strugglers and believers. As I do, the more I understand and experience His powerful and everlasting grace and love. God welcomes us with open arms.

He loves us for who we are, not what we do. Unlike the rest of the world, He loves us without the necessity of performance. His love depends upon His compassion. It has nothing to do with what others think about us, or how we feel about ourselves.

Over the next six weeks, my hope is you will join me on this journey. My prayer is your heart will open to how deep and high and wide and strong God’s grace and love is for you. My desire is for you to experience wonder and joy in the exploration of each verse. My expectation is you will see this lovely psalm in a rich, new way.

Jon Foreman of Switchfoot, accompanied by Sarah Masen, put this Psalm to music, called The House of God, Forever.

It captures the mood beautifully. Enjoy.

Until next week.

About Susan Irene Fox

Jesus follower, peacemaker, unfinished human. Body: over 60; Reborn: August, 2006. Writing devotional workbooks for new believers. Dedicated to using God's grace and unconditional love to bring people into God's embrace.

Posted on July 4, 2014, in On Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Susan, there are those who think this is merely a song, which is indeed sad. There is such a richness of teaching about fear, doubt, praise, struggle and adoration in the Psalms. It is David’s journey into knowing who he truly is and how God has been with him in that journey of discovery.

    I will pray for God’s guidance and His wisdom as you do this series. I will pray for protection from the Enemy as you shine the light of God’s Truth on Psalm 23.

    You have chosen one of my favourite Psalms. Many of us know it by heart. We can recite it without missing a word, but do we truly know the full depth and impact of its message to us in our struggles, doubts, fears and deepest anxieties?

    I look forward to reading your series. I found your blog comforting today in my own struggles, doubts and fears. I know I was meant to read your soothing thoughts and listen to “The House of God Forever.”

    Keep up the great work you are doing for your Lord in His vineyard of love, in this online community of seekers and learners.

    Have a Son-filled weekend, dear friend!

    Kevin

    • Thank you, Kevin. Your words always provide peace in my own heart. I have been blessed with His grace and favor this week, and have raised thanks to him after waiting upon His timing. I pray He lifts you up, comforts your body, soul and mind, and carries you with strong and gentle arms of reassurance.

      Rest in Him, my sweet friend. Let His light warm your heart. Please give Karen a hug for me. Do nothing but be with Him this weekend. ❤

Share your thoughts on this post.

