Daily Archives: January 11, 2015

As I sit in my chair – My pastoral letter to you

man sitting looking out window

I share this note I wrote to those praying for Karen and I as an encouragement in whatever trial you are going through.

My beloved friends,

In all the struggles with my recovery from pneumonia, a sinus infection and the trouble seeing out of my right eye because my right pupil suddenly becomes larger than the left, God gives me some amazing blessings that a call came to my heart to share with you, to encourage you that in the trials of our life no matter how dark and overwhelming they are our Lord hears our tears. As I wear sunglasses because of sensitivity to light God is removing my spiritual blindness. He allows us to be real with Him. In that spirit of honesty as I asked God to heal me more not just physically but moreover deep in my soul a song lyric comes that is developing entitled As I Sit in my Chair. It is about how in our struggles seen and unseen God is with us. Through our questions, doubts and fears He is there. As we pour out all that is upon our heart God opens Heaven’s window to us as He did when Christ called out to His Father as He was dying on the Cross feeling pain, agony and rejection. When the song lyric is finished in God’s time I will share it as my gift to you. Please pray that God’s words would flow through me.

Then, another wonderful thing happens. There is a call to my heart to ask that God would divinely change my voice to become the one that He wants coming out of me. I reach notes unlike before with greater ease. A deeper and fuller resonance comes. Peace and joy floods into me.
I start singing You Raise Me Up more in the spirit of how God raises us up in the storms of our life.

I read a note from a member of the Prayer Team praying for Karen and I that encourages me. It is about how when we go through more suffering than we feel we can endure, it is God’s way of telling us that He has a lot of faith in us. He is telling us that He will give us the strength to endure.
Perhaps, there are those of you who will read these thoughts who will be inspired and uplifted as I have been. Yes, I know the attacks of the Enemy will still come in my areas of weakness. But as I sit in my chair or wherever I am, I only need to call out to God and be open with Him about my sin. It is then that the window of God’s forgiveness is opened up for me, as it is for all of us who are real about where we need to grow.

Have a beautiful weekend with your Lord, family, friends and those strangers God brings into your path to love and listen to and reach out to pray for them and help them with their practical needs.

Kevin

Kevin Osborne, B.Th. with honours, D.D., D. Sc., Diplomate in Creative Ministry, is training to be a Christian psychotherapist through St. James the Elder Theological Seminary. He will be a Master of Divinity student at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. He will soon be opening a Christian counselling practice called You Can Hope Again with his wife, Karen, who is an M. Div. student at Trinity College. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada. We are available to go where God sends us to do His will preaching, teaching, singing, giving marriage enrichment seminars or however needed. You can reach me at my email address osborne2029@gmail.com

Have a Son-filled life!

https://osborne2029.wordpress.com/

