Daily Archives: January 18, 2015

Eyes to See – Psalm of Love to my Lord

vision I was blind but now I can see

As we come before the Lord let us all see in our times of the greatest spiritual blindness that God gives us an insight within us of His awesome plan for our lives.Please prayerfully reflect on how God is speaking to your heart through listening to Be Thou My Vision.

Dearly beloved friends,

I want to thank you all for your prayers and outstretched arms of love through cyber space as Karen and I face ongoing challenges. No words I could ever write could fully express how touched we are by you taking time from your lives filled with its own struggles to reach out to us with such compassion.

I already have reduced vision from astigmatism in both eyes. I am losing my vision in my right eye. According to an opthamologist a neurological condition called Adie’s Pupil has resulted in nerve damage in my right eye. It is named after the neurologist, Dr. William John Adie, who it was named after. My right pupil is larger than my left. I cannot open or close my right eye properly. so I have extreme light sensitivity requiring me to take extra strength Tylenol for the pain and wear sunglasses. I will be seeking a referral from my optometrist for help from the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (C.N.I.B.) in adjusting to what the new normal will be for me. I think God has some work for me to do there.

The opthamologist says a viral infection is the cause. He says there is no treatment for it. My own research (my wife Karen says I am Mr. Research) has found that treatment with vitamins that help with nerve function of the eyes may be helpful.  In 20 percent of cases the infection can spread to the other eye. Over time one can develop cataracts and macular degeneration, which leads to total blindness.1

God has brought an occupational therapist into the picture for further assessment on adaptive ways of adjusting to this eye condition.

Many of you will have read that on Tues. Karen called 911 when a life-threatening asthma attack from airway constriction occurred. Before the paramedics arrived I was going into involuntary shaking of my legs as I fought for each breath. I was heading into respiratory failure. Under the excellent care of Englehart & District Hospital ER attending physician, Dr. La Casse, it was determined that I have the flu. I am still recovering from months of having streptococcal pneumonia.

I know that there are different beliefs about the forces of darkness and what happens is of the Enemy and what is not. Personally, I do believe that there is an enemy of the children of light. Darkness cannot stand being around people filled with an undying hope no matter what is thrown at them. Yes, we all have our times of hardship and crisis. For over 50 years of her life Mother Teresa did not feel the presence of God. For what is described as those “four years of hell on earth” Oswald Chambers felt the sting of criticism of family, friends and fellow artist colleagues that he was either insane or a fool. He began to believe these lies. Through this time of spiritual desperation Chambers threw himself on the promise that God gives His Spirit to those who ask. That is when the time when his spiritual drought ended as he felt the refreshment within that comes from accepting this truth.

Oswald Chambers was a theologian, preacher, teacher and a chaplain, who died in the first World War of a ruptured appendix. He is well-known for his series of lectures calling people to an aggressive Christianity, which his wife first gave to soldiers and past students in pamphlet form. She gathered all the lectures together and published them as  My Utmost for His Highest  in 1927.2

It is in these soul-searching times when faith is tested, when the forces of darkness seek our destruction, that we also need to see where God’s mighty power is at work. I am reminded of this Scripture. “ And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us” (Rom. 5:3-5, NASB).It is as I ask my own questions about all God is allowing that I share with you  Psalm of Love to my Lord.

I pray it will be a blessing to your heart as you ask your own questions about where God is at work in your life.Please never lose sight of the fact  that God gives us vision to see His beautiful plan for us more clearly through our doubts. questions and fears.

Give me Eyes to See – Psalm of Love to my Lord

Father Adonai, when I am too blind to see the plan You have for me

Give me eyes to see the hope I have in Thee

Through my tears as I call out to You

Show me the character of You that is true

Many say You are a God who does not care

That You allow terror, hopelessness, illness, death and poverty to live everywhere

There are many Christians turning away from You

Disbelieving in the Resurrection

That our faith is nothing but shallow confection

Father, help us all to be able to know the reason for the hope we have

Not merely to say it is the faith we have

Let us never turn away from those who do not believe

Be able to love them and by the living letter of our life show we do not deceive

Tell them that we have our questions too

We have our fears too

We have our doubts too

Oh, Lord, be our vision in times when we are blind

Give us the eyes to in You the Truth to find

That You love all humankind

You love the atheist and the agnostic

You love those who are rather caustic

You love the abuser and the abused

You love those who say they are being used

You love the rich and the poor

You love the prostitute and the addicted

You love those who are afflicted

You call me to bring comfort in all I am going through

You are bringing me into a time of soul-searching prayer

As in my struggles I seek to find You there

Even if You should allow the Enemy to take my sight

I will continue to fight the good fight

If all my mobility should be taken from me

I will still do Your will that the doubter and believer Your Truth would see

That in those times when the way I cannot see

When I question this cross You have given me

When I feel I cannot go on one more day

Remind me that with You I need to take time to pray

Give me the love that I need to give my wife

To give her hope in our time of strife

In ways I cannot see I believe through this struggle many will become free

You will use all the training and experience You have given me

To lead many to Victory

The new birth that comes as we confess

The sin that makes our life a mess

By the light of day and in the dark of night

Give me Your holy sight

Give me courage to answer further the call

That Your love is for all who would say,

“Oh, God, please turn my night into day!

I cannot go on one more step without You today.”

Give me the mentoring I will need to further prepare for Your call

To counsel, sing, write, preach and teach of Your love for one and all

That the disabled and the poor need a strong and caring hand

To lift them up and help them stand

To free them from poverty’s searing brand

That through having a job and education new hope they would see

Light in their darkness that sets poverty’s captive free

Let us all fight terrorism with the weapon of love

Finding strength in the hope that comes from above

Help us in this world of ever-growing fear

That to our family, friends, pastors and colleagues we would draw near

And when our work for You be done

You’ll take us home to bright Heaven’s sun

Where there is no more sorrow, no more pain

Where we will sing of love’s sweet refrain

Then, will there be no more blindness for then we shall fully see

That forever psalm of love in Thee

Kevin Osborne, B.Th. with honours, D.D., D. Sc., Diplomate in Creative Ministry, is training to be a Christian psychotherapist through St. James the Elder Theological Seminary. He will be a Master of Divinity student at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. He will soon be opening a Christian counselling practice called You Can Hope Again with his wife, Karen, who is an M. Div. student at Trinity College. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada. We are available to go where God sends us to do His will preaching, teaching, singing, giving marriage enrichment seminars or however needed. You can reach me at my email address osborne2029@gmail.com

Have a Son-filled life!

1. http://drkisling.com/uncategorized/chonic-pupil-dilation-adies/

2. http://www.christianitytoday.com/ch/131christians/innertravelers/chambers.html

https://osborne2029.wordpress.com/

