My darling, I’ll always love you

couple love you forever

 

My darling,

Today, we celebrate your birthday. I reflect on the joyful and challenging times we share. There are happy times like when we feed the ducks at Port Dover in Simcoe county. We laugh together as we hear their humorous quacking competing for our attention. Through all the tough times you have been consistent in your love. Through nine intubations for mast (immune and systemic) cell attacks from my extremely rare auto immune condition of mastocytosis and and countless ER visits sitting on those hard chairs, you love me and help nurse me back to health.

In times when others have said you should dump me because of my challenges, you have never waivered in your belief of my potential. You see what my critics couldn’t or refuse to see. That is the painful and sad thing about one’s physical and/or developmental challenges. There is often this silent judgment that disability means inability. You aren’t like that, nor are many we are blessed to know. From the first time I meet you at a Bible study there is this embracing compassion for others. This has only blossomed like the flowers of spring.

I love you for being you. You have always said to others if they can find an inconsistency in what you say and how you act, to bring it to your attention. That kind of openness to criticism is rare.

We  share times of struggle together. Through them you have become a more compassionate person. There is this sensitivity to the suffering of others that shines out of you. Many can’t fully describe it. Words fail them. I believe it is the love of Christ they see.

You have this infectious warmth to your character. True. It’s not fully on display before you have had your first cup of coffee. Never forget we are all people under construction.

You have an endearing sense of humour. You put a smile on my face with your antics. You should use this gift more often. This is an example pertaining to romance. “ We’re British. Purely scientific. We’re conducting research.”

You love me in spite of my faults. Every day I’m reminded of how I yet need to grow as a human-being.

I agree with you in praying for the healing of my mastocytosis. Many are praying for the complete healing of this disease. I add to their prayers mine. Father, please use the doctors and  scientists to find a cure for mastocytosis and all diseases.  In our weaknesses show us how in You we are strong. Amen.

I will always love you.

Have a joyful birthday!

Kevin

Kevin Osborne is training to become a psychotherapist, priest and chaplain through St. James the Elder University in Jacksonville, Florida. He and his wife, Karen, plan to open a counselling practice. Karen is taking graduate divinity studies at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. Kevin is planning on taking additional graduate studies there. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada.

Our greatest calling is to be servants of our Lord wherever He calls us to go.

https://osborne2029.wordpress.com

 

 

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on April 1, 2016, in On Relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

