I need You

crying out to God Psalm 130 verse 1

Have you lost the love for God you once did feel and share?

You cry out, “Oh, God, why don’t You hear my prayer?

Why are You no longer there?”

Tears have fallen through the dark night of your soul

He doesn’t hear you when to Him you go

Your life is in a mess

So filled with daily stress

To do lists and that deadline

These words to Him you cry

Father, when I have no time

how can I to Your spirit fly?

I can’t juggle all the demands anymore

The many expectations of me

Both career and family

I’m so filled with wounds within

Why don’t You my broken spirit see?

Why can’t You take all these burdens away?

I’m ready to quit on life

There’s no joy within

I shout out, “Why aren’t You there?

Why do You no longer care?”

Then, in my tears I hear God say to me

“My child, I never stopped loving you

But you stopped loving Me

Blamed Me for all that’s wrong in your life

You are the one who turned away from Me

Do you remember when you first accepted my Son

A new life in you did begin

You feel cleansing from all your sin

Peace that passes all human understanding is within

The demands are still there

But because you take all your cares to Me

the burdens are lighter

Remember when this you did see?

Then, you are promoted with more responsibility

You begin to make bargains with Me

From the 20 minutes with Me you did spend

You go down to 15, 10, 5 then 3

Each day with Me less time you spend

until one day you failed to see

You no longer have any time for Me

You grow richer and richer

Your spirit is starving

Poorer and poorer within you are

From Me now you are afar

Then, you say you have no energy for the day

Your joy has gone away

I so want you to come back to Me again

For you to feel beautiful cleansing from all sin

Cast all your tears upon Me

From your heavy yoke I’ll set you free

You’ll feel zest for life beat again within your heart

A new life within you will start

You’ll feel and know again I’m the great Thou art

The calling you lost can begin again

if you would just say these three words

I need You.”

Kevin Osborne is training to become a minister, psychotherapist and chaplain through St. James the Elder Seminary in Jacksonville, Florida. He and his wife, Karen, plan to open a counselling practice. Karen is taking graduate divinity studies at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. Kevin is planning on taking additional graduate studies there. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada.

Our greatest calling is to be servants of our Lord wherever He calls us to go.

https://osborne2029.wordpress.com/

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on April 13, 2016, in Poetry, Rethinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

