My Interview with Poverty

 

God why poverty

I spent some time speaking with Poverty today

I asked, “Why do you exist?”

He said, “It’s because in this world there is too much greed

There are many who care, but also many who refuse to share

There are too many tied to the things they own

Their hi-tech gadgets, their Smart Phone

Is it any wonder people feel so alone?

They think things will make them happy

They wonder why they feel so crappy

Inside they are filled with poverty of spirit

Darkness

Despair

They think no one for them does care

You try to tell them this truth, but they refuse to hear it.”

I asked Poverty, “What can we do to help those who feel

poor in both body and spirit?”

Poverty looked me straight in the eye

This was his reply

“When you see someone hungry for food, thirsting for love

never pass them by

Always be there to lend a helping hand

To be that caring friend

That’s the best gift to them you can send

Reach out and care for one another

Treat everyone equally as your sister, your brother.”

I said to Poverty, “I have one last question before you go

All what you say sounds too simple to me

I need you to tell me how can from you people be forever set free?”

Poverty said, “Have you not been listening?

People are freed from poverty by doing this one thing

Putting their compassion into everything

Sharing from the heart of who they are

When people do this I will go from them afar

You will only get rid of me when this truth you see

The best gift we can give is when we give the gift that is free

Our outstretched arms of humanity

Listen and be open colectively with ideas to get rid of me from your beautiful minds

Let the poor share their story

Have the courage to speak out against the way they are treated

Don’t make everything about the bottom line

Remember that society is judged by what they do for the least

For those who have so little

Who are giving up hope

Who with me can no longer cope

It makes no sense to me why you take more and more from those who know me

Don’t you this truth see?

When you do that I will be with you permanently

Until you learn that you are made more complete by what you share

I will always be there

When you learn to do all I advise that will be my demise.”
Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. We are starting You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Creatures Great and SmallKevin likes doing impressions.  He tells children’s stories using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy. 

https://osborne2029.wordpress.com/

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on July 8, 2016, in Rethinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Share your thoughts on this post.

