Hope walked with me

faith hope and love clouded sky with some light

 

I spoke with hope for a while as he walked with me.

These are the thoughts he shared with me.

There is a Christian leader I know who follows God.

He is soon to loose his home and car.

I have made appeal after appeal,

only to have those faithful few answer the call.

Hope, please answer this question that perplexes me.

Where is  greater community for this beloved friend, a valued mentor

who is seriously ill,

who is down to eating oatmeal and peanut butter?

Hope paused and then prayed before answering this question.

Then, he said to me,

“There are still people who care,

who for the suffering are truly there.

In this ever-darkening world they are getting harder to find;

those who have not forgotten the inner healing power of being kind.

The god of materialism reigns because many live with secret pains,

they don’t want others to see.

They get temporary pleasure from things;

from their big screen TV saying, “I get 500 channels.

Don’t you see how happy I am?”

I live where there is yet those who care;

in those who say to the hurting, “I am there.

I will not go away.

Please tell me how I can bring hope to you today?”

I exist in those who have suffered their own secret pain;

who see when we reach out to others a helping hand,

that’s where hope does with that bleeding soul stand.

Hope said, “There are many people needing me —

the abused, addicted, broken-hearted, those with physical and developmental challenges, rich, poor, sick, searching souls  and the lonely.

I must go, so they will not give up on me.”

I’m thankful for the time hope walked with me

Taught me more about him

Brought some brightness into my day

Put a smile upon my face

Had me pray for me and all of us to have a more compassionate humanity,

because like it says in God’s Word, “These three remain,

faith, hope and love, but the greatest of these is love.”

Love is the fire that gives hope life.

Love is the gift we all can give,

for it is in giving love, and helping with the needs of others, hope does truly live.

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. We are starting You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Creatures Great and SmallKevin likes doing impressions.  He tells children’s stories using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy. 

https://osborne2029.wordpress.com/

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on August 2, 2016, in Rethinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

