Do you feel like you’re an ugly duckling?

ugly-duckling

Image from Wikipedia

Hello everyone! I’m Dr. Teddy, the teddy bear counselor Kevin and Karen use in their counselling practice. During Labor Day weekend I had the opportunity to view Hans Christian Andersen, starring that funny and talented, Danny Kaye. Hans Christian Andersen was a poet and author. One of the stories he wrote that I would like to talk to you about is The Ugly Duckling. It’s the story of a duckling born in a barnyard, who is teased and abused by others around him. Not everyone knows that this is a story about Andersen’s own abuse by a schoolmaster at one of the schools he attended. 1

This ugly ducking wished so much to be a beautiful swan. He felt so sad about the way he looked. All the awful things others said only helped to make him feel so ugly. He thinks this about himself all winter long. Spring comes. He gets so down he decided to throw himself into a flock of swans to be killed. But something wonderful happens! When he sees his reflection in the water he’s not ugly. He’s a beautiful swan!

Kids, do you get made fun of at school? I was called so many bad names when I was only a cub in the universe of Ted. That’s where my mother, Theodora, and my father, Theodore, come from. God has sent me here to help children, teenagers and adults with their problems. They called me Professor Four Eyes and Professor Piddle Face. I didn’t have very good vision when I was born. I had to wear glasses when I was only five years old. I felt so awful because of the names I was called. I was like that ugly duckling. I was abused in school by a kindergarten teacher when I didn’t get into a group of her other students fast enough. She pulled me by the ear. It was really painful.

My father was a sick man in his mind. He hit me a lot. He said I was stupid. He told me I would always be a failure. He suffered from a terrible disease called schizophrenia. This means he heard voices telling him to do all kinds of things. One of them was beating my mother, me and my sister, Ballerina. My father made us feel so ugly. I hated my father so much I made a plan of how I was going to kill him. I would get him so angry at me, he would want to hit me. I would stab him with a knife. I thank God I never got the chance to do that. I would have had a very bad life. It took me many years to begin forgiving my father.

Do you ever feel like that ugly duckling? You think you’re not beautiful. Did you know a man named David says in the Bible that we are not ugly? If God says through David, “You’re beautiful,” believe it. I know. People have said all kinds of awful things about you. They have made you feel you will never do anything special with your life. When you think things like that about yourself, please remember Dr. Teddy telling you about his life. I have grown up to become a bear counsellor. If with all I have been through I did this, you also can do wonderful things with your life. You could never be ugly in God’s eyes. You’re so beautiful to Him. Whenever you think things about yourself that aren’t true, I hope you will come back to this story Dr. Teddy told you.

Have a beary great week!

Dr. Teddy

Sources:

1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Ugly_Duckling

 

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. Kevin is studying to become a psychologist and professor of Psychology. He feels called to also be a chaplain. We have started You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and BeautifulKevin likes doing impressions.  He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear.  He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. Please visit our counselling website, where you will also find our blogs. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on September 6, 2016, in Rethinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Growing up in poverty, I struggled to focus my eyes on seeing beautiful things around me, including the beauty that lies within me. I didn’t like looking at the mirror or showing on photographs because I hated my reflection. That would explain why I never kept a photo album of my childhood pictures.

    It was only after knowing God through His words have I understood that I was created after His image and likeness. I began to see who I really am in the eyes of God and that realization has silenced the pathological critic that has been undermining my self-worth.

    Thank you for sharing an honest piece of your story!

    • Jayson, I have no doubt you have learned much through your journey with poverty. I know Karen and I have through ours. We will pray for you in your advocacy work. You lose more battles than you win with this, but you savor the victories.

      That pathological critic can do a great deal of damage to people. Sadly, it is often ignited by the negative put down comments of others. The fact this occurs in The Church illustrates our need for God’s love in our hearts.

      I was deeply moved by this comment you made in your about page of your blog.

      “KINDNESS REVOLUTION speaks of humanitarian advocacies that I support and projects that I will have in the future. This is more of a social responsibility on a personal level because I believe that we are all accountable to our fellow human beings, “for none of us lives to himself, and no one dies to himself (Romans 14:7 NKJV).”

      Jayson, what a more beautiful and loving world it would be, if we had much more people who think like you do. There is far too much focus in our society on self. I know people who spend thousands of dollars on time payments for a Big Screen TV, but have nothing to give to those in need.

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment on my piece. I agree with you I did not come to your blog by chance. It’s one of those God things.

      Shalom,

      Kevin

Share your thoughts on this post.

