What is God’s life equation for you?

god-do-yu-hear-me

I had a Grade 9 Math teacher who was also a philosopher

He asked a question I will never forget

Would you rather live 100 years of a mediocre life or 50 years of a quality life?

There was a long silent pause where no sound was heard

You could have heard a pin drop in the room

Confusion

This had nothing to do with Math

I thought about the question

Something told me it was of deep significance to me personally

A point of decision

Which path would I choose?

I think God was watching, listening that day to what my response would be

I raised my hand and said, “Mr. Wrong (Yes, honestly that was his name), I would rather live 50 years of a life giving of myself to others.”

I didn’t consider myself special

I wasn’t better than anyone else because I raised my hand

In reflection I was feeling compelled to stop sitting on the fence

To cease waffling about accepting a path of mediocrity

God was challenging me to decide one way or the other

It was either to be a mediocre life or quality one

The other students didn’t seem to show an interest

But then I think now perhaps they did

The question of a mediocre life or a quality one was germinated in their minds

The seed was planted

Only time would tell how it would be sewn

The question could be expressed as a mathematical equation

Quality life = or is less than 50; Mediocre life = or is more than 50, but no more than 100

It’s not an exact equation

It has many variables

You could also live 100 years of a quality life

You could also live 40 years of a mediocre life

The equation of life will be different for you than for someone else

When I agreed a quality life was better I believe it started a course for my life

God would allow great suffering

A journey into poverty

Attacking my dignity as a human-being

Judgment of my character

Discrimination because of my physical challenges

Denial of job opportunities because of a perception which sadly still exists

Disability means inability

Emotional and physical abuse into adulthood from my schizophrenic father

Emotional and physical abuse from some personal support workers

The struggles of dealing with pernicious anemia diagnosed 38 years into progression

The challenge of an extremely rare auto immune disease called mastocytosis

10 intubations

Too many times in the ER to count

God had taken me up on the answer to my Math teacher

Would I have changed my answer having gone through what I have?

I don’t know

I hope I would have still chosen to live a life in service to God and others

I believe in doing that is our greatest sense of fulfillment, peace and joy

What about you?

What will be your answer to God concerning Mr. Wrong’s question

God’s question to you

Perhaps, you have already answered it

Maybe, for the first time you are being encouraged to really think about the purpose of your life

To be challenged to stop sitting on the fence with God

To come to a point of decision

To go in a completely different path than you would have chosen for yourself

I pray you make the right choice

God’s path for you

Uniquely designed just for you

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. Kevin is studying to become a chaplain and professor of Psychology specializing in Pastoral Theology. We have started You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and Beautiful. Kevin likes doing impressions. He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear. He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on November 14, 2016, in On Life's Purpose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

