Homeless Man Hopes Again

compassion-to-homeless

A child with his mother saw a homeless man on the street.

Three days was it since he had anything to eat.

He was cold.

In his eyes the child saw the smallest tear.

The man was only forty-five, but looked more like 70.

The child with a puzzled look on his face said,

“Why are you living out in the cold?”

The mother did with tenderness her child’s hand hold.

 

The man with sadness in his voice said,

“A year ago my wife died of cancer.

The medicine she needed cost a lot.

I saw her die a little more each day.

I was so unhappy when she died.

I lost my job.

The bank took away our home.

I turned to alcohol to ease my pain inside.

I couldn’t take care of our three children.

I lost them too.

I saw no more reason to live.

I lost all the money we had saved.

 

Now, here I am living out on the street.

For three days I’ve had nothing to eat.”

 

The mother looked at the man saying,

“I have not much to give, but this I would like to do.

Come into the restaurant in front of us.

I’ll buy you one of those breakfast specials.

Then, if you let me I’d like to take you to a shelter.

There you can get a bed and meals to eat.

 

I know workers there who will help you get back on your feet.

I work there too.

I’m the executive director.

Please come with me.

Let me help you hope once again to see.”

 

The homeless man was shocked by such love.

He cried and then cried some more.

He wiped away his tears.

He didn’t want the boy or mother see him cry.

He was a proud man.

He didn’t want anyone thinking he was weak.

 

The homeless man said,
“You two are the only ones who have spoken with me.

Yes, I will go with you.

I’m tired of living this way.

You have brightened this weary man’s day.

 

The homeless man ate a breakfast of ham, eggs, sausages,

toast with raspberry jam and coffee.

 

He was driven to the shelter where he saw many staff and people

living there who did care.

 

He was accepted as a resident.

He stopped drinking, because he now had a new way of thinking.

The man who was homeless began to see

there are many who care in his community.

 

He became a counsellor at the shelter

He got married.

It was tough to do, but he got back all his children.

He had to prove to social services he would be a responsible parent.

 

He’s studying for his social work degree.

To think  this all happened, because it was because on a cold wintry day

a child and his mother stopped by.

They were used by God to help the man a brighter day to see

Now, he’s serving suffering humanity.

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. Kevin is studying to become a chaplain and professor of Psychology specializing in Pastoral Theology. We have started You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and Beautiful. Kevin likes doing impressions. He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear. He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on January 3, 2017, in On Loving Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

