Punished For Being Innocent

poverty is like punishment for a crime you didn't commit

I was deeply moved by this image. This child has done nothing wrong and yet is treated like a prisoner — denied the freedom of opportunity that should be a fundamental right of every human-being.

What would you do to help poverty’s child?

Lack of finances should never be an obstacle in receiving professional counselling.

Kevin and Karen Osborne are psychotherapists and pastoral counsellors.  Kevin is studying to become a chaplain and professor of Psychology specializing in Pastoral Theology. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and Beautiful. Kevin likes doing impressions. He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear. He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

 

 

About osborne2029

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. I m in an M.A.-Ph.D program with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary to train to become a psychotherapist and priest. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on March 26, 2017, in Rethinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Please say “hello” to Dr. Teddy for me 🙂

  2. Good afternoon, my dear. I looked up the time in Cameroon. It’s 9:40 a.m. here in Matheson, northern Ontario, Canada, and 2:40 p.m. where you are. I am having some earl grey tea as I respond to your correspondence. And no, contrary to the thoughts of some people, we do not live in igloos. We do actually live in homes and apartments.

    How’s life going for you? Kevin tells me what a God-gifted writer you are. You comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable. Your writing offers both encouragement and challenge to your readers. It is filed with both the grace and boldness of Christ. You allow yourself to be put before God for serious examination to see where you need to mature in your faith.

    Even though I am quite busy being a professor of Psychology at Trinity College in the University of Toronto, writing books and going on lecture tours, I am also a senior consultant in Kevin and Karen’s counselling practice. Although my schedule is hectic I have taken time to look at your writing. I agree with Kevin’s assessment, but would add this thought to uplift your spirit. Your writing sings the songs of Christ’s love for the whosoever.”

    I hear Karen calling me. “Dr. Teddy, we are going to the Cozy Diner for lunch. They have a roast beef dinner on special.” “Smashing, my dear. I shall be ready in a jiffy. Just finishing off this note to encourage that writer you told me about who lives in Cameroon. Her reflective writing touches my soul.” “It touches ours too.”

    I pray for God to shower you with the river of His richest blessings now and always.

    Keep up the beautiful work you are doing for your Lord!

    Yours in Christ’s amazing love,

    Dr. Teddy

  3. Awwwweee, thank you Dr, Teddy. This beautifies my Monday.
    I really didn’t expect hearing from you. Thank you for writing to me, and for your encouragement.

    Yes, Kevin keeps telling me my writings have a useful place in the globe. I’m happy you think so too 🙂 And I always will tell Kevin, “We’re but instruments in the hands of the Creator”.

    Kindly say hello to Kevin and Karen for me. Will you be having any counselling session this week with Kevin and Karen? If so, please extend my regards to the person you’ll be encouraging. Tell him/her someone out here in Cameroon is telling him/her “Jesus loves you”.

    Happy Easter in advance! 🙂

  4. I’m so glad to hear from you, my dear! Gives me a most-needed break from grading exams of students in my Child Psychology class at St. James the Elder University. Most of them are doing splendidly. I’m so proud of them for putting in such creativity and thoughtfulness into their answers.

    When you were in university how did you like exams? Why did you decide to study journalism and mass communications at the University of Buea with a minor in History?

    So right you are saying to Kevin, “We’re but instruments in the hands of the Creator.” When I see the sun shine out of our office window and hear the birds singing their sweet melodies, I think how blessed I am to view such a lovely and invigorating sight. It reminds me of the beauty of Christ, who though not considered handsome by world standards possessed an inner beauty. He loved all kinds of people from the rich to the poor, the lame, learned, uneducated, sick, lame and the blind. He prayed for the thieves on the cross as life was draining out of him with each passing second, with each minute, with each hour.

    He brought love into a world filled with far too much hate. Sadly, with increasing terrorist attacks we see the worst of humanity. It’s tough then to remember that Christ died for the worst of humanity.

    You should give prayerful thought to turning your many reflective pieces and poetry into a book. There is so much depth, inspiration, challenge, humility, the love and joy of Christ in your writing. Think of how that would show light in all that’s going on in your community, the country of Cameroon and the world. We need more people like you filled with Christ’s light, hope, and a shiny optimism.

    We did have a client yesterday. Please pray for her. She deals with the devastating effects of childhood sexual abuse. We thank God she is seeing after two years of counselling just how beautiful our Father thinks she is. She is emerging out of her cocoon, and becoming a butterfly, taking on new and exciting challenges.

    I’ll be sure to tell the person we are helping that someone in Cameroon said, “Jesus loves you!”

    Well, I think I’ll take a lunch break. I must tell Karen and Kevin to get some chocolate rosebuds. How I do so much enjoy them!

    I’ll say to Kevin and Karen, “Sally says hello to you both.”

    Have a most blessed and joy-filled Easter!

    –Dr. Teddy

Share your thoughts on this post.

