Daily Archives: June 2, 2017

Two Open Hands

man with two open hands to God

 

I looked into my heart today

Saw yet what needs to change in me

A greater love for suffering humanity

The call to be a chaplain, a professor of Psychology and

Pastoral Theology I feel

For that calling, I will need your prayers

As I learn more about sharing the hope I have

may it be to the hurting a healing salve

 

I kneel before the Father knowing of my own humanity

I wouldn’t have the strength for this call

I wouldn’t be able to love one and all

 

Lord, I thank you for the gift of Karen my wife

She loves me through all kinds of strife

Encourages me to see me as You see me

A sinner saved by grace at the cross of Calvary

You gave Your one and only Son there

that others would be able to cast on Him their every care

To be free from evil’s tyranny

To truly know Your love that sets us free

 

Karen sees who I yet can be

as I put my trust in Thee

Over 35 years ago I gave myself to You

in no half measure

to call people to receive Heaven’s eternal treasure

 

I stumble along life’s way

Get up again and try all the more

to live the purpose I’m here for

To encourage others to no longer be a slave to sin

To know Your joy that flows within

 

Father, show me how to love that searching soul

That one who has felt life’s heavy toll

To be there with two open hands

Point that person to the One who understands

The God who hears our faintest cry

The amazing love of You, our Father Adonai

 

I lift my soul in prayer

for all of you who are struggling out there

I hope with all my heart

you will give two open hands to the God who sees you

He who knows everything about you

Sees your sin

Yet wants to have it cleansed

Have you experience new life within

 

He is there even if you think He is not

There to cleanse each dark spot

To remove all the rot

To fashion you into the person He wants you to be

To have you feel His love from now into eternity

Kevin and Karen Osborne are psychotherapists and pastoral counsellors.  Kevin is studying to become a chaplain and professor of Psychology specializing in Pastoral Theology. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and Beautiful. Kevin likes doing impressions. He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear. He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

 

