Is world peace possible?

I was doing research for another story when I came upon this hymn. It moved me deeply beyond any professional choir singing it. It’s real. They are given a moment of peace in all the heart-wrenching noise of the Korean War. It is sung by the members of M.A.S.H., which stands for Mobile Army Surgical Hospital. For the benefit of those who have never seen the TV series, it focuses on the tragedies of war, and how the characters use comedy to deal with its cold realities.

For a few minutes there are no bombs. No sound of gunfire is heard. Colonel Sherman T. Potter, who is the commander of M.A.SH., says as snow falls, “All of a sudden, this place is pretty.”

The Christmas truce is broken by a soldier arriving with a truck full of the wounded.

Song of Peace is a partner song with Dona Nobis Pacem. It was written by Mary Donnelly and arranged by George L.O. Strid in 1991.

“If I could have one wish come true,
It would be peace for me and you.
Peace in our hearts and peace of mind;
peace now and ever for all mankind.
So may our voices never cease.
So may we sing our songs of peace.”1

Enjoy some peace in the busyness of the Christmas season. Please say a prayer that echoes the thought in Isaiah 2:4, NIV. “He will judge between the nations and will settle disputes for many peoples. They will beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks. Nation will not take up sword against nation, nor will they train for war anymore.”

“Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.”— Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Then, there is this realistic viewpoint on world peace.

“Is world peace ever going to be a reality? Sadly, likely not in our lifetimes. But that does not mean we should give in to despair. Mahatma Gandhi once said, ‘When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it — always.’”
Jane Goodall

Karen and I pray for Christmas with your family to be filled with peace. Enjoy the gift of loving one another. Think what a better world it would be if we all worked a little more at doing that.

Perhaps, if we had a blending of the idealism of world peace with its hard realities, one day it will be possible.

Sources:

1. https://mudcat.org/thread.cfm?threadid=76840

Dr. Kevin Osborne is the Dean of Psychology and President of Student Affairs for St. James the Elder University. Dr. Osborne is a doctor of theology candidate through SJTEU. He is s therapist, writer, poet, and singer. He helps people in their inner healing journey. Dr. Osborne lives in Timmins, northern Ontario, Canada, with his wife, Karen. She is the Registrar for SJTEU. Karen has a B.A. in Clinical Christian Counseling summa cum laude from St. James the Elder Theological Seminary (now St. James the Elder University). She plans to pursue graduate studies. Karen is a writer, editor, and counselor. 

About Dr. Kevin Osborne B.A., B.Th., M.A., M.Div., Psy.D., Th.D. (Cand.)

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. Two years ago I completed my Doctorate in Psychology (Psy.D.) through St. James the Elder University. On Sept. 26th 2020, I graduated with a Master of Divinity degree from Canadian Christian Theological Seminary. These journeys were started over 20 years ago. In 1997 I received a Bachelor of Theology degree from Canada Christian College & Graduate School. Between working and studying it took 13 years to finish it. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on December 23, 2023, in Christmas, loving others and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I know that God will one day establish world peace, but there is much water to run under the bridge before that happens for the moment I can only be at peace where I am and work to make sure the warfare in the world does not make me lose my hope in the promised future.

    • Joseph, thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughtful comment. I fully agree with you. I believe world peace will occur. I like your phrasing that “there is much water to run under the bridge before that happens.” It would be easy to lose hope with all the warfare in the world.

      I believe Christ, the Prince of Peace, will come when it’s God’s time.

      Hope can be harder to feel when we see the horrors of war in news stories. Here is something I try to do that came as wise advice from my wife, Karen. Focus on what you can do to help one person. You can make a difference in that life through the power of presence. Listen not just with your ears, but your spirit as well. Hear where that precious soul is at.

      Joseph. it’s been said that we can change the world one person at a time. When you change one life through listening or being there to meet a practical need, that’s something that will light up both of your lives.

      God can use you to touch one life or many. It all begins by saying something like this. “I’m here. I care.”

      Have a beautiful Christmas!

      Kevin and Karen

      • I love that thought David! Focus on what you can do to help one person. You can make a difference in that life through the power of presence. Listen not just with your ears, but your spirit as well. Hear where that precious soul is at.”
        It is something I often share with my congregation. We may not be able to stop the course of events worldwide, but right here there are many people we can influence and bring nearer the peace of Christ!

  2. Thank you, Joseph, for sharing your thoughts. It’s encouraging to me that what I shared touched you. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as you minister to your congregation. Where are you ministering?

    Praying you will feel the continued guidance of God in your life and ministry work.

    Have a Son-blessed 2024!

Share your thoughts on this post.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.