Love Others in the Darkness

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

The people who hurt us with their words and actions can draw us away from God’s love.

We can feel as if we are stumbling in the fog.

That cloudy mist leaves the riches of His grace hidden like buried treasure.

We uncover them by allowing God to point out to us where they lay beneath the sand.

God calls us to make a tough decision.

We cry out to the Lord for guidance.

We plead with Him to make the answer crystal clear

Perhaps, like me, you have felt total silence.

What is happening in the deafening stillness?

Our Father has created a quiet space for us to vent.

Let it all out.

Yell.

Scream.

Shout.

Shake your fist at God if you have to.

Pour out your anger.

Give Him your rage.

Leave nothing unsaid.

Have you been wounded deeply by someone who knows what emotional buttons to press?

You determined this time it wouldn’t happen, but it did.

You say or do something to this individual.

You’re disappointed in yourself.

You’re hard on yourself.

We can be our worst critic.

God is often gentler with us when we blow it than we are on ourselves.

Perhaps, you called out to God saying something like this. “Lord, I blew it. I know this person deliberately said things that caused me to react. How do I stop this from happening?”

The Lord may reply, “I hear all you are saying. I have been working on developing your character for many years. The enemy makes you feel like a failure when you can not resist lashing out at those who know exactly what to say or do to provoke you. I have been trying for a long time to encourage and if necessary, challenge this person to be kinder towards you.


I am doing my best to save the individual’s soul. The person tells others only part of the story. This is this human being’s way of controlling others. In doing so, they keep others off-balance. You are painted as the awful person.

Their tears are false. They are intended to manipulate others. The individual did that with you, but you came in time to understand that it was lies built around a grain of truth.

I do not take your suffering lightly. I have been there loving you through it.

I will never leave or forsake you. Cast all your cares upon Me. Darkness will win if you do not. You do not want to become vindictive like this individual.

I have invested much in you through the mentors I have given you. It would sadden Me if you gave into temptation and became like this person.

I love you with an everlasting love.

Whenever you feel like getting even for the harm done to you by this person, lift up a prayer that individual would open their ears and heart to Me. I want the iciness in their soul to melt away.

You have done your part. Watch Me as I show you the way out. It will happen in My time. I know you hate hearing that, but this is the way it must be. All you are experiencing is to teach you, so you can speak to others about your story with genuineness.

Continue to love others. Change the direction of your emotions to the action of reaching out to those you love, and the strangers I will bring into your life.

My blessed child, remember you are more than a conqueror in Christ.

Evil has already been defeated through the death of my one and only Son on the cross.

Through that sacrifice even the vilest of offenders can be forgiven.

Hatred is a consuming fire that destroys everything in its path.

Let hate go and love in.

Let the love I put in you shine.

Thank you, Lord, for teaching us how to love others in the darkness.

Dr. Kevin Osborne is the Dean of Psychology and President of Student Affairs for St. James the Elder University. Dr. Osborne is a doctor of theology candidate through SJTEU. He is s therapist, writer, poet, and singer. He helps people in their inner healing journey. Dr. Osborne lives in Timmins, northern Ontario, Canada, with his wife, Karen. She is the Registrar for SJTEU. Karen has a B.A. in Clinical Christian Counseling from St. James the Elder University. Karen is a writer, editor, and missionary of the heart. 

About Dr. Kevin Osborne B.A., B.Th., M.A., M.Div., Psy.D., Th.D. (Cand.)

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. Two years ago I completed my Doctorate in Psychology (Psy.D.) through St. James the Elder University. On Sept. 26th 2020, I graduated with a Master of Divinity degree from Canadian Christian Theological Seminary. These journeys were started over 20 years ago. In 1997 I received a Bachelor of Theology degree from Canada Christian College & Graduate School. Between working and studying it took 13 years to finish it. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on February 18, 2024, in On Loving Others and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.