Goodbye and Hello

Image by Rondell Melling from Pixabay

Life can get in way of the time we need to grieve.

The to-do lists can be all-consuming.

They call us out of the time we need to mourn.

There are so many things to do —

family to look after.

When do we have time to think of the hereafter?

Why do we allow the pace of life to take over?

What do we hope to attain by the things we do?

Wealth?

Financial security?

A life of leisure?

None of these are bad.

It’s what you do with your life that counts.

Yesterday, I found out from a friend, that one of my mentors died of a massive heart attack three years ago.

I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to say to him, but never did.

Why do we leave unsaid what we should say to those we love?

Why do we wait until they’re called to Heaven to say in silence what we should have said?

Don’t live your life with regrets.

Say how much you love your family and friends.

Value the time on this earth you spend.

Try to forgive those who’ve hurt you with their words and actions.

We’re only here for a little while.

We can choose to hold on to our anger or forgive.

I’m thankful God did give me an opportunity to meet my mentor again after many years.

I did tell him what a blessing he was to my life.

We reminisced about days gone by.

I laughed with him at times ’til I cried.

He said, “Your wife’s special.”

I replied, “I’m blessed that God brought her into my life.”

He said, “Karen’s smart.”

I replied, “Yes, I know. There’s ways she’s more intelligent than me.”

He said, “The two of you make a great team.”

I smiled as I said, “I agree.”

I would add there is One who is at the heart of our marriage.

God is in the center of it.

We pray He’ll always be.

I prayed about what would be the most important things my mentor would want me to say.

There are two messages to impart.

1) Live your life God’s way.

2) Take the time to mourn those who’ve touched you in life’s sojourn.

I would add one more.

Pray to God and ask Him if you don’t know the reason you’re here for.

He’ll tell you if you give Him the opportunity.

I believe we’re all here to help wounded humanity.

We’re all here to do what we can to be there for others.

I pray for a world where one day there will be no more hate.

We’ll treat everyone as our sister, our brother.

If you do that when God says it’s time to go, you’ll know you lived your life the Lord’s way.

You’ll have joy when you meet all the people you know.

They’ll be rejoicing as you meet our Father on high.

You’ll be glad you said goodbye and hello.

You’ll have an eternal Kingdom party with God and the ones you love so.

Dr. Kevin Osborne is a Vice-President for Student Affairs for St. James the Elder University. Dr. Osborne is a doctor of theology candidate through SJTEU. He is s therapist, writer, poet, and singer. He helps people in their inner healing journey. Dr. Osborne lives in Timmins, northern Ontario, Canada, with his wife, Karen. She is the Registrar for SJTEU. Karen has a B.A. in Clinical Christian Counseling from St. James the Elder University. Karen is a writer, editor, and missionary of the heart. 

About Dr. Kevin Osborne B.A., B.Th., M.A., M.Div., Psy.D., Th.D. (Cand.)

I enjoy spending time with people just having a coffee or talking about life, philosophy, religion, politics or sharing a favorite joke or story. We learn from one another as we interact and share our joys, challenges and even our times of sadness. I enjoy reading, writing, singing and sharing in the blessing of community whether that is one on one or in groups. I'm married and am powned by two kitties named Sir William of Lounge a.k.a. Sir Lounge a Lot and Princess Catherine of Chaos a.k.a. Her Royal Highness Catherine of Englehart. Two years ago I completed my Doctorate in Psychology (Psy.D.) through St. James the Elder University. On Sept. 26th 2020, I graduated with a Master of Divinity degree from Canadian Christian Theological Seminary. These journeys were started over 20 years ago. In 1997 I received a Bachelor of Theology degree from Canada Christian College & Graduate School. Between working and studying it took 13 years to finish it. Let us pray for and reach out to each other with kindness, love and an embracing compassion. We can working together be servants with two open hands to those in need so that hate, indifference and inequality would lose and love will win. The peace and abounding joy of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Posted on May 16, 2024, in loving others, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts on this post.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.