Daily Archives: October 25, 2013

Music is Life….. But Wait….!!!

Do you know how powerful music is? If people know the power of music, they would change their selections in a heart beat. I wrote this blog earlier on this year and today God reminded me of the power of music. Thought I should share with you.

For most of the world’s population, music is life, inspiration and a breath of fresh air. Many of us use music to get things completed and I say this with a very wide scope of events in mind. We work to music and we also KILL to music. Thinking now?  On my way to work this morning, I was listening to the morning program which was so informative and enjoying until they played a song by well-known Reggae/Dancehall artiste “Beenie Man”. The name of  the song I’m not sure about but the lyrics caught my attention and really upset my spirit. What life would that music give.

Content of song:  Beenie Man was boldly saying to women in the song, he don’t care if they have a man. If they have one, horn him or if they have a husband, divorce him. He went on to talk about what he will do to the woman.

What a message to give to a society who has seen an increase in immorality and violence. I am not putting all the blame on music for the falling of bodies, striping of clothes and the rising of no values but lets face the truth, it has a part to play. Growing up, I never saw people walking through the streets with headsets as I do now. Everyone has a headphone plunged in their ears. So the music is settling in their brains and then the actions follow. People listen, process and act on lyrics. So why do musicians send these negatives messages? I wish they didn’t but we have no control over them. However we do have control over ourselves and I am speaking to women specifically from here on.

As much as a man will act on lyrical content, many of those same men despise a woman who degrades herself in doing the same. There are songs I’ve heard asking women to behave “wotless” as we say and the way these women would carry on, makes me feel a-shame to be a woman. That should not be. Ladies I am actually pleading to you, to keep your morals and value levels high . I am not saying to be an upstart but let a man fall for your inner beauty. Do not swallow lyrical content and order your life by such. You are more valuable than that. Trust me, I was one of them and it attracts the wrong crowd. I consider myself blessed because my face could have been disfigured from letting music take over me negatively. The life it gave to me was one of “badness”. No I was not a “baddest” but I was almost there.

Be selective to music and don’t let anyone look at you different when you do. Music can either help bring life into this world or it can help take lives. Let the music you listen to uplift and build you as a person as oppose to degrade you mentally and potentially physically. So the next time you in the club and you hear “Wey meh ladies… Pat yuh pu**y and call yuh man name” or “strip clubs and dollar signs” (hope I got that one right) as the song says, don’t embrace it. No you are not being boring but having standards.